Book Sacrifice Tag

Book Sacrifice Tag

I was tagged by Jill and her amazing blog Rant And Rave About Books for the Book Sacrifice Tag.

For once, I think this will be a rather easy one, so let’s get on with it and tackle this. These are the books that I’m willing to sacrifice in order to survive several extreme scenes involving zombies, glacier ice age etc.

1. An Over-Hyped Book

Situation: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked would you start chucking at the zombies? 

Ha the idea alone of chucking books at zombies, it would be easier in any case than using a stake. Well this one is easy. The Girl on the Train, of course. I don’t know why this was hyped, it was rather slow and it held no real surprise for me. I could see how it would unravel from early on, simply by elimination and logical thinking. I mean there are not even that many characters in the book. Maybe this is a great book for an occasional reader but not for a ferocious reader who has a well-developed sixth sense.

2. A Sequel

Situation: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?


I’m choosing to give up After You. I loved Lou in Me Before You and gave that book 5 stars but I had a feeling that the sequel was made only to ride on the success of the first novel. The story was told and it should have been left as a standalone because this novel did not add anything really.

 

3. A Classic

Situation: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

 

I know little about the classics. I have not even read Pride and Prejudice but this is one that pops up very often and I’m kind of tired of hearing about Mr. Darcy. I haven’t even been able to sit through the whole movie, just saying.

 

 

4. A Least Favorite Book

Situation: Apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

I had high HIGH hopes for After by Anna Todd. It was also a hyped book but there is really not very much going on in there. Tessa is just so stupid to put up with Hardin’s behaviour and it’s a constant pull and push between the two of them. He’s just not worth it in my opinion. Needless to say, I did not continue this series.

_________________________________________________________________

I don’t want to nominate anyone but I hope someone wants to do this tag ! Please, anyone?

Finally, a big thank you for reading my selection. Let me know if you think I’m crazy nominating these, I can take it ;-)!

 

 

19 thoughts on “Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. Nice post! I’m so glad you did this one. I was thinking about reading The Girl on the Train, but the preview I’d read on Amazon seemed a bit slow. Me Before You was another book I read a preview of that also had a slow opening. I like that these books are on here because I think I’ll chalk them up to all hype and probably never read them. Too many books to read on that TBR list, right? 🙂

    Like

    • Right, although sometimes it’s worth it, even if the start is rather slow. I’m terrible, I’m always afraid that the book won’t live up to my expectations, but I still can’t resist wanting to know what it’s all about.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, that’s true. Some really good books have started out slow. I’m in such a slump though, so I’m looking for something fast paced to get me out of it. I do the same thing. I usually end up breaking down and reading the hyped books to see for myself why everyone likes them.

        Like

  2. I totally agree with The Girl On The Train and I’m afraid to even pick up After You because I wasn’t blown away by Me Before You either… I haven’t read Pride And Prejudice by the way and haven’t watched the movie either. 😉 Historical romance just isn’t for me, so I don’t think I will any time soon either.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Book Sacrifice Tag | It's All About Books

  4. Grappig om jouw antwoorden te lezen en te ontdekken dat er best wel wat overeenkomsten zijn. Zo heb ik Het meisje op de trein niet gelezen vermits de hele hype me niet aansprak, heb ik genoten van Voor jou terwijl ik het vervolg niet wil lezen vermits ik me moeilijk kan voorstellen dat het nog iets bijdraagt aan het originele verhaal. Ik heb nog geen enkel Jane Austen boek gelezen en ook After spreekt me totaal niet aan ook al zag ik al meerdere enthousiaste recensies langskomen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Book Sacrifice Tag | Secret Library

Leave a Reply

