Kitty’s Countryside Dream

Blank bookcover with clipping path

Rating: 5_Star_Rating_System_5_stars_1457015727_81_246_96_2

What’s it about?

New home. New life. New beginning. Love affairs can blossom in the most unlikely places . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, and the possibility of love, the discovery of a long-hidden diary, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream and blossoming relationship fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

A heart warming, moving and funny tale, perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley.

You can purchase a copy on Amazon (UK) / Amazon (USA).

My review

I was really excited to read this novel. If the cover was anything to go by then the story would be fuzzy warm too. And it is a wonderful story indeed! Kitty’s Countryside Daydream proved to be much more than some chicklit though, taking a quite surprising turn towards the middle of the novel.

It all starts off innocently enough with new beginnings for Kitty. After the passing of a grandmother she never knew about, she is moving to a new town, into the flat left to her, she has a new job too that she knows nothing about and proves to be quite a challenge, which is a perfect cause for many humorous moments. Slowly she starts making new friends and we are witness to these blossoming friendships. Right of the bat I knew that Tom, the current manager at Bluebell Lodge, and Kitty were a perfect match, but sadly her attraction to Tom seemed one-sided to Kitty, him having taken an interest in the beautiful Jeannie and Jeannie from her part wants to set her up with her brother Robin.

I thought this little feel-good novel would not hold many surprises for me, counting only on the light-hearted thread but I was wrong, mea culpa. There are not only the usual misunderstandings and romantic complications but it has another deeper layer, one of mystery and of hidden past secrets, which surface when she finds an old diary. The diary submissions of Violet were quite captivating on itself and willed me to keep turning the pages and learn about the secrets hidden. The last part was quite emotional for Kitty and for me but I’m happy the way it all turned out to be. There is a bit of heartbreak but also a lot of warmth and happiness to find here. A real recommended read if you want a chicklit with an extra.

*I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for my honest opinion*

Advertisements

One thought on “Kitty’s Countryside Dream

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s