Book list: WWW Wednesday (04-05-2016)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today.

untitled

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

 

What I’m Reading:

See How They Run by Tom Bale

A bit different from my last reads, there is no murder to solve, no police to get involved, yet there are bad guys and people on the run. I’m loving this book so far. This is the first novel I’ve read by Tom Bale and if I can help it, it won’t be the last. It really has the page-turning x-factor. I’m reviewing this book on Friday but I can tell you already that it’ll get a very good rating.

What I (recently) finished:

Dying for Christmas by Tammy Cohen

I actually read  and reviewed this book months ago, before I started blogging, but I still haven’t had the opportunity to post my review with all the other books coming in between. I still remember vividly to this day however what a truly amazing book it was, one that really surprised me with its twists and turns. I am dying to read more books by this author and see if they are all this wonderful. I hope to post my review soon.

What I’ll probably read soon:

This book, a murder mystery, I’ve had for a long time now. I read Burying Water by K.A. Tucker before and I really liked that one. I was kind of saving this novel but I think the moment is now almost there to finally start reading.

He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker

A woman who almost had it all . . .

On the surface, Celine Gonzalez had everything a twenty-eight-year-old woman could want: a one-bedroom apartment on Manhattan’s Lower East Side, a job that (mostly) paid the bills, and an acceptance letter to the prestigious Hollingsworth Institute of Art, where she would finally live out her dream of becoming an antiques appraiser for a major auction house. All she had worked so hard to achieve was finally within her reach. So why would she kill herself?

A man who was supposed to be her salvation . . .

Maggie Sparkes arrives in New York City to pack up what’s left of her best friend’s belongings after a suicide that has left everyone stunned. The police have deemed the evidence conclusive: Celine got into bed, downed a lethal cocktail of pills and vodka, and never woke up. But when Maggie discovers a scandalous photograph in a lock box hidden in Celine’s apartment, she begins asking questions. Questions about the man Celine fell in love with. The man she never told anyone about, not even Maggie. The man Celine believed would change her life.

Until he became her ruin.

On the hunt for evidence that will force the police to reopen the case, Maggie uncovers more than she bargained for about Celine’s private life—and inadvertently puts herself on the radar of a killer. A killer who will stop at nothing to keep his crimes undiscovered.

_____________________________________________________________________

Have you read any of these books? Interested in any of these books? Please share in the comments below if you have any thoughts.

9 thoughts on “Book list: WWW Wednesday (04-05-2016)

  1. See How They Run is high on my list, I heard it was a gripping read. I’m also interested in He Will Be My Ruin, I love the blurb, it’s very promising. Both those books seem to have an original edge to them so I hope they’ll be as good as they sound!
    Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Dying for Christmas – I read it before I was a blogger too but still remember it so well. It had me completely hooked and I read it in one sitting. I’ve read the other two books she’s written as Tammy Cohen and both are very good, Dying for Christmas is my favourite of the three though. I like the sound of See How They Run but haven’t got a copy of it yet, I’ll look out for your review to see if it helps me make up my mind. 🙂

    Like

    • I know right, this is a book that isn’t hard to remember if you’ve read it.. I felt so so bad for her and then the twist came so out of left field. It doesn’t happen often that a book can surprise me this much! I’ll see if I can help your decide about See How They Run ;-). Thank you for reading my post!

      Like

  3. I hope ‘He Will Be My Ruin’ lives up to your expectations. It looks like a good one. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  4. Ah, the other See How They Run version! I will definitely be trying to get a copy of this one as well; it sounds like an interesting read. And I need to get one of Dying For Christmas as well, although I might wait for the Holiday months to get it. I hope you will enjoy your books this week! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

