Book bliss: a hard copy

Hello everybody!

Today I want to share something with you that really made my day.

You know, I get a LOT of e-mail requests asking me to read and review books. It’s probably because you can find my e-mail address in my Amazon account that I receive requests like that a few times a week. I get these books via e-mail, in all sorts of format, or I get a gift voucher for the book via Amazon. It has already come back to bite me though, because where I always said yes at first because I was so happy with each request, now out of bare necessity (never thought I would say that), I’m starting to learn to say no. I hate to let authors down but I just have to.

But as fun as it is to get books that way, nothing is as good as a real old school paper copy, right? Unfortunately, nobody sends me their books through the mail. I live in a awful (often undeliverable) country for subscription boxes, but also for reviewing books and other products. I can’t even remember the last time I got a package in the mail or a letter that wasn’t an invoice.

But last month, for the very FIRST TIME, I received an e-mail from Tower Lowe, a mystery author, who wanted to send me her novel In Gallup, Greed in HARD COPY. I was all excited at the prospect of getting a book by mail and my surprise was even bigger when I didn’t get one but even two packages! I really hope they will make an excellent read and I hope to start reading In Gallup, Greed in the next couple of weeks. It has 42% 5-star rating and an equal 42% 4-star rating. That must mean something right?

image

image

The blurb, although short, seems very promising:

Lonnie is stabbed to death while his sister, Mirage, is in a black out. Did she kill him? Gallup, New Mexico provides the backdrop for greed, scrambled brains, illicit love, and murder. Cinnamon and Burro trail a gallery owner, a young boy with TBI, and a group of greedy young artists through the high desert, looking for a murderer. Burro suffers visions of the crime. Spirits communicate with the suspects. Cinnamon and Burro search for answers and the illusive Momma makes a phone call from the past.

You can find the book on AmazonUS / AmazonUK

__________________________________________________

If anyone has read this book, please let me know in the comments what you thought of it.

 

4 thoughts on “Book bliss: a hard copy

  1. I know exactly what you mean when it comes to reviewing requests. In the beginning, I was absolutely thrilled! Yet then it caught up with me as well and had absolutely no time left to read any of the books I bought myself, so I keep pushing my ‘open for reviews’ date further and further back into the year ;). I’m in the same boat as you when it comes to receiving physical copies but they’re slowly pouring in now and it’s absolutely fantastic! I don’t believe I’ve received a hard copy so far yet, so I can understand your excitement there :D. Awesoooooome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

