5 Websites I Love That Aren’t About Books

I always run behind on others (story of my life), but I don’t really care. This was an original meme on The Broke and the Bookish but I’m just doing it now and only 5 instead of 10 because my post would be too long. Doesn’t really matter, does it?

So here goes.. this is where I spend some of my time:

1. Tripadvisor

When going on holiday I will always check reviews on Tripadvisor. When going to a new restaurant, the same. I wish I could write some more opinions there but I don’t get out a lot for the moment. Still, it’s nice to see that some people read my (overall positive to very positive) opinion.

Capture  1

 

2. De Keuken van Sofie

I like Jamie Oliver and Nigella as much as the next person, but their recipes are always just a bit more work it seems and I like to watch one of our local chefs, Sofie very much because it always seems so easy what she does. I’m not a good cook (hum) but I have made a few of her desserts and dishes. It helps that you can see video and replay it endlessly if you wanted to. One of the recipes that I’ve made was Hasseltse Speculaas. I love speculaas and this one is special because it’s a softer variety (The Belgian city of Hasselt is known for a local variety of speculoos. On January 13, 1870 Antonie Deplée, a baker from Hasselt, acquired a license for Hasselt speculoos). It went really well and I will certainly make again.

Hasseltse Speculaas

3. Geocaching

Geocaching is a real-world, outdoor treasure hunting game using GPS-enabled devices. Participants navigate to a specific set of GPS coordinates and then attempt to find the geocache (container) hidden at that location.

I started in 2004 and only have 267 caches so far.. mainly because I like to do this mostly on holiday, abroad.

 

4. Postcrossing

I really like getting post cards from time to time, it cheers up my day and that’s why I started with postcrossing. If I want to send a card I do, and then I know I will get one back. If I don’t feel like sending anything in 2 months, that’s okay too, there are no rules. It’s a great deal I think.

Capture 2

 

5. Pinterest

Yes I’m on pinterest and I have 8 categories where I pin things that I like. I’ve got quotes (not bookish ones), home, books, creative things, tattoos, cute and cards.

This one is in cards.. seems easy to make (yes I’m an easy girl, don’t you know it by now) and I think that’s a great idea.. I’ve started collecting buttons from things that I don’t use any more so I could make one of these some time.

 

So there you go, that’s it. Anyone else a geocacher or postcrosser? I would love to know it if you are.

6 thoughts on “5 Websites I Love That Aren’t About Books

  1. I have done a couple of Geocacher searches. They are very fun! I found out about geocaching a few years back, when someone made the old hollow tree across the street from my house into a geocache location. It was fun seeing people pull up search the empty lot and come away with a smile on their face.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award. |

Leave a Reply

