Do you like an ugly cry too?

giphy

When I see posts where there is a mention of an ugly cry, I always sit up a little straighter and pay a little more attention. I love books where you can feel something and sadness is one of the strongest and deepest emotions. It stays with me a lot longer than happiness (i.e. after reading a chicklit novel with a happy ending). I tend to give a higher rating too if a book can make me feel an emotion so strongly.

I love a book that makes a deep impression, that stays with me for months, even years after finishing it. I don’t want you to take my words literally though, I do not cry with books. But I did feel a lump in my throat when reading the following novels, and I still remember how much heartache I suffered, how my heart was torn and shredded when reading these. I can highly recommend and stand firmly after each and every one of these.

Here’s my top 5

1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls by [Dowd, Siobhan, Ness, Patrick]

A magnificent book. A very special kind of book in genre and in style, written in simple language like a children’s tale but with such a strong lesson it touches the heart. Guaranteed to stay with you a long time after you finished this.

2. Bright Side by Kim Holden

Bright Side by [Holden, Kim]

The main character in this novel, Kate is called Bright Side by her best friend. That’s because she always looks at the bright side of life. Prepare for an emotional rollercoaster, you can expect being utterly and completely devastated in the end.

3. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Forbidden (Definitions) by [Suzuma, Tabitha]

This book is not for everybody. It’s about a forbidden love and some people might find it very difficult to read. Even though I knew it was wrong, I still had strong feelings of sympathy too and felt gutted in the end.

4. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love: A Novel by [Hoover, Colleen]

All’s good, until the end and you get to fully comprehend what Ugly Love really is. It’s powerful, compelling and emotionally charged with a unique storyline.

5. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Do I still need to say something about this one. Everybody must of heard about it by now? A great must-read book that makes you happy and sad at the same time.

Still on my reading wishlist for an ugly cry:

Have you read these books? Do you know any other books that made you ugly cry? I’d love to know!

17 thoughts on “Do you like an ugly cry too?

  1. my family tend to regard my tears as a benchmark of brilliance, for I cry for a multitude of reasons. Extreme beauty, determination and talent will all usually cause my eyes to leak.
    And sadness too, of course…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All unknown books for me except Me before you, though I haven’t read it. I agree with you that when you get to have strong emotions with a book it stays longer with you. Not a lot of books have made me cry but I still remember the ones that did!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of these yet, but I think I’ll avoid them for the time being :D. I usually love a book with strong emotions as well, but I’m going to try and settle for a feelgood summer when it comes to reading (reading about a psychotic shapeshifter now…so good luck with that hm? 😉 ).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve added Forbidden and Bright Side to my wishlist, they both sound deeply emotional and fascinating. Ugly Love in on my TBR but I still haven’t had time to get to it.
    I am at a point in my life where I tend to avoid tears, or any story that might touch any sensitive string in me, but once in a while it’s okay to get into an emotional rollercoaster.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel like so many people talk about how they ACTUALLY ugly cried when reading, and I personally never have cried while reading! (At least not recently, I may or may not have cried when I read The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants when I was like… 12). I’ve been wanting to read A Monster Calls forever, and I just keep seeing it everywhere. I might just have to finally do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Did you ugly cry to Ugly Love? That book made my stomach hurt when I found out about Miles’ past but I didn’t cry. To this day, The Fault In Our Stars is the only book to make me cry. And I ugly cried so bad it was disgusting. Same thing happened when I watched the movie. It was like a pool of mascara and tissues. Good idea for a post! 😉

    Like

  7. I didn’t actually cry with any of these books, my title post is a little bit misleading but I did get the whole throat closing up, can hardly speak-leave me alone-experience. Thanks for the rec, I read TFIOS but I did not feel so overwhelmed to be honest, I don’t know why. The only time I’ve cried that I remember was with the movie Marley and Me, about the dog. I never ever want to see that movie again because that was too sad for me.

    Like

  8. I don’t cry too often when I read books; the only books that I’ve read that have made me cry was Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson and To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. SCS isn’t my favorite book by Matson, but the ending was very emotional for me, and TKAM is just a stunning work of fiction that gets me every time (I’ve read it 3 times and cried all 3 times).

    Like

  9. Books that make me ugly cry are my favorite! Any book that elicits intense emotions usually get high scores from me because they’re more memorable.
    I haven’t read Me Before You but the movie definitely had me bawling relentlessly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

