WWW Wednesday (20-07-2016)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today.

untitled

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

 

What I’m Reading:

I just started this book so I can’t really say anything yet about it but it’s promising, and I’ve heard great things about Tarryn Fisher’s books.

Marrow by Tarryn Fischer

In the Bone there is a house.

In the house there is a girl.

In the girl there is a darkness.

Margo is not like other girls. She lives in a derelict neighborhood called the Bone, in a cursed house, with her cursed mother, who hasn’t spoken to her in over two years. She lives her days feeling invisible. It’s not until she develops a friendship with her wheelchair-bound neighbor, Judah Grant, that things begin to change. When neighborhood girl, seven-year-old Neveah Anthony, goes missing, Judah sets out to help Margo uncover what happened to her.

What Margo finds changes her, and with a new perspective on life, she’s determined to find evil and punish it–targeting rapists and child molesters, one by one.

But hunting evil is dangerous, and Margo risks losing everything, including her own soul.

Line

What I (recently) finished:

I’ve read this one last year and I haven’t gotten further than book 1 and 2 but I really want to read book 3 when I get the chance. Nothing too heavy in these books but I am fascinated by the extraordinary abilities of people in solving crimes. All the characters in here have some sort of ability, one of them can spot lies, the other can read your body language like no other.

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But, it’s not a skill that she’s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they’ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn’t realize is that there’s more at risk than a few unsolved homicides-especially when she’s sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own. Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms close. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.

Think The Mentalist meets Pretty Little Liars-Jennifer Lynn Barnes’s The Naturals is a gripping psychological thriller with killer appeal, a to-die-for romance, and the bones of a gritty and compelling new series.
Line

What I’ll probably read soon:

A new psychological thriller that sounds like it could surprise me. I’m all in for surprises so I look forward to reading this!

Fear Dreams by J.A. Schneider

A sensitive woman fearing insanity… Liddy Barron, an artist, was injured in a hit-and-run accident that left her with recurring nightmares, gaps in her memory, and an increasing obsession in the disappearance of a coed named Sasha Perry. Was Sasha murdered?

Liddy’s turmoil grows as she begins seeing ghostly images. Her husband Paul, a scientist, seems to be trying to help but insists it’s just her imagination…while intuitive Detective Kerri Blasco, also obsessed with young Sasha’s disappearance, senses that Liddy may have a key to solving the case, and tries to unravel the shocking truth of what really haunts her.

Line

Have you read any of these books? Interested in any of these books? Please share in the comments below if you have any thoughts.

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (20-07-2016)

  1. This reminds me that I wanted to read Marrow. I wasn’t thrilled about Tarryn’s collaboration with CoHo in Never Never, but I’ve always wanted to give one of her books a try. I can’t wait to read your review. We usually have the same opinions on a lot of books. 🙂

    Like

    • Well I read The Opportunist and it wasn’t one of my favourite reads, but this sounds so good so I have high hopes I’ll like it. I only read the first book of NeverNever and wasn’t thrilled with their collaboration either. It wasn’t CoHo all the way, that was obvious.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I wasn’t too thrilled about the synopsis for that book and I read a chapter of F**K Love and it sounded bizarre. Yeah, it was so un-CoHo, which reminds me I need to write my rant for that novella series. It was awful.

        Like

Leave a Reply

