The Secret Life of A Book Blogger

 

x4iyon

I was tagged by the wonderful Donna @ Chocolatenwaffles’ Blog. She reads the same kind of books that I do so go over there for more inspiration and have a look at her great blog!

How long have you been a blogger?

I have been blogging since the last day of February 2016, so I’m still a newbie. A year ago I would have laughed at you when suggested to start a blog.. me? blogging? I’m the most anti-social (introvert) person there this. But yet here I am. I signed up to do reviews for someone else but I had to post them myself so I thought if I have to do that, I can just as well have my own blog ;-).

At what point do you think you will stop? 

When I stop reading books probably but I don’t know when that will be. I have been reading non-stop since somewhere in my twenties.

What is the best part?

Reading a review about the same book that I read and someone else having the same reactions, the same thoughts is just so great. That feeling that you are not alone anymore with your love for books in general. A new comment can make my day too, even though I never know what to reply. And finally connecting with authors, they have the same status as popstars to me so that’s always just wow.

What is the worst part? 

The amount of time it takes me and maybe a tiny bit of stress to read faster lately. I think my time will almost double everyone else’s time for writing blog posts. Reviews are sometimes even written faster than other posts.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

It takes me a few minutes and Google is my best friend. I should definitely look into it more and find me some youtube tutorials because most people have such beautiful pictures and gifs. I find it hard to find a gif that expresses what I want and I can’t really edit pictures yet. I’ve downloaded Canva some time ago but there are not so many free pictures there to use and I haven’t figured it all out yet either.

Who’s your book crush? 

There were a few great guys that I read about but suddenly I can’t remember. I change book crushes like I change euhm books. In any case all the guys in Colleen Hoover’s books are pretty good options.

What author would you like to have on your blog?

Any author I read that is looking for a place to share something but Gillian Flynn (even though it’s been awfully quiet about her I won’t forget how great her books are) and Colleen Hoover seem the summum for now.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

Something loose and/or sporty. A jogging often or the more tight fitting black pants with a t-shirt. I love Zumba clothing too although I don’t have anything with the logo yet. It’s on my wishlist. Anyway  I often go for that look and you’d really think that I’m very sportive (ready to go out and make myself sweat) but that’s just an appearance.

How long does it take you to prepare a post? 

Take your time and double it, so way too long for my own liking.

How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture? 

I feel very welcome and really at ease from the very first day.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog? 

Do your own thing and don’t worry about any rules or expectations. How many times per week/how long reviews should be, none of that. Be original if you can, that’s always rewarded immensly.

Who do I want to know better?

As usual, if you don’t want to do this tag, it’s quite ok too!

24 thoughts on “The Secret Life of A Book Blogger

  1. I often get stuck in front of my screen, wondering about the best way to reply to a comment! 🙂 And writing posts takes forever. Whenever I need to post a review, I’m overwhelmed with doubts about what I’ve written, although these past few days, the feeling has been weaker. Maybe I’m starting to relax 🙂
    Great answers! I’m glad you did that tag

    Liked by 2 people

      • That’s sweet of you to say! 🙂 But you don’t have to worry, I always enjoy your reviews, there’s great and really reflects your feelings about the books you talk about. I admit I love commenting. It can be time consuming but I think I love interacting with everyone so much that I just have to stop by and say a few words whenever I feel like 🙂 Commenting is so easy and it is so important for bloggers who carefully prepare their posts. I know I smile whenever someone leaves me one, so if I can bring a smile or even just a loud notification on a phone, I wanna do it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hail hail introverts/socially awkward people! I never know what to reply either. Smilies go a long way if I’m really clueless, it’s horrid, though. I spend so much time on writing my posts as well, and then still wonder whether I shouldn’t have taken more time for it in the case of missing any Eureka moments…(as if).
    Canva! I didn’t know for the life of me how to get the (appropriate) free pictures there either because, let’s be honest, their search button sucks. But I recently discovered that if you go to ‘Elements’, there’s a folder which says ‘Free Photos’. You’re still not able to find the ones you want exactly, but it’s a start!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You don’t seem like such an introvert to me though ;-). It’s encouraging that I’m not the only one who has problems. Sometimes there’s a tag and the same day someone is tagged they have it on their own blog. Crazy :-). Thanks for the tip about Canva, that’s so helpful and I’ll go check it out right away !

      Liked by 2 people

      • I was thinking the same thing. Like me, Anne does come across as an introvert. I’m a super undercover introvert. 😉 Yay for awesome bloggers! Nice post, Inge! And Anne, high-fives for making it through a post with no inappropriate comments from either of us! Winning! Haha! Drew would be proud of us. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, but all of this is coming from my brain directly :D. My thoughts fly right out of my fingers. My mouth on the other hand…I’m usually the quiet one on a party, sitting in a self-made corner, hogging up all the cheese ^^. I don’t know a single person who doesn’t have any problems of some sort! 🙂 Omg, I know, SO crazy! Either they have a LOT of time on their hands or they’re just super duper fast. Good luck!

        Like

  3. It takes me a long, loooong, time to write a blog post too! I don’t know, it’s just sometimes I feel like I’m forgetting to put some important content or something. Anyway… I adore all CoHo guys too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the tag! I’ve had a few weeks off but now I’m back, mostly recovered from jet-lag and excited to get going again 🙂
    Also, I love your first answer, I totally relate! Very happy you chose to start anyway 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice answers, Inge! Totally agree with on being yourself and doing your own thing. It really shows when a blogger is being real. Even if they’re weird and quirky, I’d rather see that than a person pretending to be someone they’re not because it’s so obvious. You answered Drew’s favorite question about what you wear while you blog. Yay! He goes mad over that one. I give a different answer every time for fun. Haha! I’m evil! 🙂 I wear socks. Lol. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. For gifs type in tumblr after your search on google, so ‘excited gif tumblr’ since they are most often high quality 😉 ah the pressure of reading more and faster, I feel ya! Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

