BFF (Blog Friends Forever): TheTattooedBookGeek

P9781454913962

So I want you to meet Drew, my new and only guy BFF so far. I’m so happy he wants to do this! I think it’s fair to say that Drew remains a little bit of a mystery for the most of us. We know he’s very British, he can stand up to Jill, he likes games, tattoos (obviously) and tea but I’m drawing a blank on the rest. And has anyone seen his tattoos? Well it’s definitely time to get to know him a little better.

If you don’t know him yet (how could that even be), Drew is not your regular book blogger, he does read books but his real forte are his poems. He’s a magician with words and if you don’t believe me you should go take a look at his blog TheTattooedBookGeek. His poems are most often sad and thoughtful and I love reading them. I’ve linked to one of my many favorite deep and dark poems ‘Letting Go’ but I’ll let you make your own choice.

So who is Β DrewΒ ?

Name:
Drew – (No, before anyone asks, it’s not short for Andrew).

Age:
I’m in my 30’s. And, while I can be a mature, responsible, fully functioning adult and all-round credit to society. I also like to think that I’m old enough to act immature and get away with it!

Age question image

What did you study or do you study now / what is your current job?
tumblr_m6ijw9bv2z1rv8oyzo3_250Alas, my job is nothing even remotely bordering on glamorous. I work in a supermarket – once you’ve all stopped laughing. In today’s society a job is a job and it’s OK with me as I get to have a laugh and partake in banter. Sometimes life gets in the way of well, life and what you end up doing is nothing like what you ever envisaged and thought. But, it pays the bills, it also pays for treats – Hello books and games! πŸ™‚ It’s convenient, near to where I live and the hours suit me. For me they are all important things as due to circumstances outside of mine or anyone’s control I had to look after my mother when she took seriously ill nearly three years ago now. And, at the end of the day, I’m not a money or amenity orientated person and it’s a job.

Do you have any other hobbies?
Only gaming, I was a gamer before I was a reader. Everything else would just be the generic normal things that other people do, listen to music, watch TV/sport, etc. You could perhaps class blogging and poetry as hobbies too but apart from gaming, not really.

tumblr_nphsme7HbC1uwu2e5o1_500

As while I enjoy watching a variety of sports, IΒ  myself am not a sporty person.

810fbf917fa48cfd580349761fb60fdd2123580d17a96bc444bde7b3041a8f01

Your favourite color?
I have two, red and black. Quite a few of my tattoos are in red and black.

Do you collect anything (besides books)?
Well, when you get to a certain age you seem to have accrued a lot of clutter so you could say that I have collected clutter. But, the answer would go back to the hobbies question and while I don’t actively collect them I have acquired countless amounts of games over varying consoles throughout the years along with lots of CD’d and DVD’s/blu rays too.

6358325381932590351864712018_yo_videogames__by_ry_spirit-d57k3ay.imgopt1000x70

Oldest book I ownWhat’s the name of the book that you’ve had the longest? Have you read it?
Hhhhmmm, tricky question, I’m guessing it means going back to childhood. And if so, the book I’ve had the longest is Woof! By Allan Ahlberg, it’s about a boy who turns into a dog. It was also made into a children’s TV show way back in the 1980’s. The book itself was published in 1986 with my edition being published in 1987. And, yes, I’ve read it, ah, childhood memories! πŸ™‚

Have you ever regretted a book you purchased? A book that sounded so promising but you wished you’d have spent your money on another book after reading it?
Yes a few, who hasn’t? Surely it’s the same for all entertainment related products along with books, including, games, CD’s/MP3’s and DVD/bluray’s you get lured in by the hype, adverts, reviews and/or synopsis and after finishing you regret the purchase, feeling disappointed.

Do you listen to audio books?
No, I’ve never been able to get into audio books. A former work colleague loves audio books but I found they just weren’t for me. It’s quite strange really as I’m a huge music fan and would always be found listening to music whenever I went anywhere, walking my dog (sadly deceased in February) going into town, doing adult stuff like gardening, etc but audio books, no, I just can’t get pulled into them like I can with reading an actual book.

Do you have a favorite genre?
Yes, I’m a fantasy fan (particularly Grimdark) followed in second place by hefty post-apocalyptic tomes.Wrath (The Faithful and the Fallen Book 4) by [Gwynne, John]

What is the book highest on your wishlist right now?
Wrath by John Gwynne, the final installment in his epic The Faithful and theΒ Fallen series. I’ve mentioned before that it is one of my favourite fantasy series and I can’t wait for the last book to see how he concludes it.

How is your library organized?
Erm……….confession time, it isn’t. I’m somewhat lacking in space for my plethora of books, games and DVD’s/Blu rays.

Library, to much stuff!

Do you read more ebooks or physical books?
Since I started blogging I’ve started reading more physical books but as it moves towards darker nights and gets later in the year ‘winter is coming’ – got my Game of Thrones reference in! πŸ™‚ I’ll possibly revert back to ebooks as nothing beats being able to read in the darker nights thanks to the Paperwhite.

Do you have a favorite book?
I’ve lots of favourite books but probably The StandΒ by Stephen King would be my all time favourite.

The Stand by [King, Stephen]In 1978, science fiction writer Spider Robinson wrote a scathing review of The Stand in which he exhorted his readers to grab strangers in bookshops and beg them not to buy it.

The Stand is like that. You either love it or hate it, but you can’t ignore it. Stephen King’s most popular book, according to polls of his fans, is an end-of-the-world scenario: a rapidly mutating flu virus is accidentally released from a U.S. military facility and wipes out 99 and 44/100 percent of the world’s population, thus setting the stage for an apocalyptic confrontation between Good and Evil.

“I love to burn things up,” King says. “It’s the werewolf in me, I guess…. The Stand was particularly fulfilling, because there I got a chance to scrub the whole human race, and man, it was fun! … Much of the compulsive, driven feeling I had while I worked on The Stand came from the vicarious thrill of imagining an entire entrenched social order destroyed in one stroke.”

There is much to admire in The Stand: the vivid thumbnail sketches with which King populates a whole landscape with dozens of believable characters; the deep sense of nostalgia for things left behind; the way it subverts our sense of reality by showing us a world we find familiar, then flipping it over to reveal the darkness underneath. Anyone who wants to know, or claims to know, the heart of the American experience needs to read this book.

What’s the cover in your collection that you’re most proud of?
I don’t have any one cover that I’m proud of. But I do like Joe Abercrombie’s UK covers as I think that they are stunningly designed.

Do you have any idea how many books you own? <100, >100, >200, >300 …?
About 100 proper books and approximately 600 ebooks.

What’s the title of the last book you purchased?
City of Mirrors by Justin Cronin, the third and final installment in his The Passage trilogy.

The City of Mirrors (The Passage Trilogy Book 3) by [Cronin, Justin]

What was your favorite author when you were a child?
I wasn’t a big fan of reading when I was younger but I did always enjoy the Roald Dahl books many moons ago way back when I was a child.

From which author do you have most books?
Lord Grimdark himself, Joe Abercrombie (10 books).

joe

Are there books you’ve read 2 or 3 times?
Unfortunately not, however there’s plenty of books that I’d like to read again.

How many books are there on your Goodreads challenge this year and how many have you read already?
30 and I’ve currently read 35, I hadn’t started blogging at the start of the year and I wouldn’t have thought I’d have been a blogger either. So, I had set my challenge merely for someone who enjoyed reading. Never expecting that I would now be a blogger! πŸ™‚

Can you spell your name with the first letters of titles in your book case (name these titles+authors)?

D – December Park by Ronald Malfi.
R – Ruin by John Gwynne (The Faithful and the Fallen book 3).
E – Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence (The Broken Empire trilogy book 3)
W – When the Heavens Fall by Marc Turner.

54 thoughts on “BFF (Blog Friends Forever): TheTattooedBookGeek

  1. Awesome! Love the supermarket gif- I bet Drew can get a laugh out of it and can’t get it out of his head the next time he goes to work!
    Also- muchas respect for not being money orientated and generally, what comes across, as a really nice guy! I wonder when will Jill come along and comment something to grind his gears? πŸ˜€ XD

    Liked by 3 people

  2. The veil has been lifted!!! Yes that Ted gif had me rolling. I work in a pharmacy and they just look at me weird when I hump things 😲 crazy huh? Love that someone is on par with my organization skills haha! And The Stand… omg! Anyways it is 3:30 am so time to head out. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Great post and that Drew guy sounds really awesome and a proper English gentleman! πŸ˜€

    That Ted gif is awesome! Yes, I try my best to stand up to Jilly! πŸ˜‚

    You’ve done a great job with the post Inge, it looks really good and thanks for having me on your blog, appreciate it. πŸ˜€πŸ‘

    Would you mind if I reblog the post later on my own blog?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Priceless post! πŸ˜€ And I agree on the Ted gif, it’s hilarious (and probably apt as well, even though Drew keeps claiming he’s a proper gentleman πŸ˜‰ ). High fives on not being career or money focussed. As long as I can eat and live properly and occasionally buy the small and entertaining stuff that I like (read:books and games as well), I’m A-okay with it too! πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry to hear about Drew’s mother. I hope she made a full recovery again?
    The Stand has got to be one of the few SK books that I haven’t read yet. It’s an obligatory read now fo sho. Great post as always Inge! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love this, Drew – I learnt loads about you and your daily life, as well as your reading habits. Love the tattoos – very impressive! I assumed that Drew was short for Andrew – but it is a very cool name…

    Liked by 2 people

  6. That Drew guy does sound like an “awesome and a proper English gentleman” lol. Love the tattoos Drew & 600 e-books? now that’s impressive! Great post, I feel like I now know a little more about the man behind the well crafted words πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Okay, so I think it’s fair to say I know Drew best. He is my every day BFF not just my blog BFF. I’m not sure how many people realize how close we actually are. We talk pretty much all day every day and not just about blogging. And I can’t believe I’m admitting this publicly, but Drew is a good guy and a gentleman. Oh the horror! I have tried to corrupt him but he’s too saintly for Jilly. πŸ™‚ He is really good at telling me off though, huh? I need someone to keep me in line. πŸ™‚ He sure knocks Princess down a peg at times.

    Anyways, love the Ted gif. That’s so Drew. When he tells me about work, I think of Drew doing something similar. Haha! Drew is like a giant child but that’s what I like most about him. And I’m not at all surprised his books and games are unorganized. I wonder if that was after he organized it. LOL πŸ™‚

    Drew, if you read this, hugs, my dear! πŸ™‚ And I admitted you’re decent in public. Now I have to go hide in shame. I expect an email with a hug inside. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

