WWW Wednesday (21-09-2016)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today.

untitled

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m Reading:

I won this book in a giveaway (you can read my post about it here) and I’ve really been looking forward to reading this novel. With the last hot summer sun I think this is an ideal read. I quite like it so far although it’s another novel that focuses on baking and breakfasts and makes me want to nibble on a snack most of the time.

50 Acts of Kindness by Ellyn Oaksmith
51kkllj4kl-_sy346_

Being overly kind isn’t in Kylie Harrow’s nature. This has never been more evident than when Kylie vents her frustrations to an innocent employee–and the whole scene is posted online, tanking her career and earning her the dubious distinction of “World’s Worst Boss.” But when she flees home to the South, Kylie finds her childhood home has changed. The high school quarterback is now the hot and handsome sheriff. Her mother has turned her home into a nudist colony. And worst of all, having heard about her daughter’s exploits, her mother won’t let her in the door until Kylie completes fifty kind acts in fifty days.The task seems easy enough at first–and may even help repair her media image–but it quickly turns into a hilarious quest that leads Kylie down a bumpy road filled with new challenges. What started as a gimmick to save her career evolves into a mission to save a spunky old woman and her little dog from homelessness. As Kylie learns about the nature of kindness, she finds the path to happiness and, for the first time ever, maybe even love.

Line

What I (recently) finished:

I finished the novel The Final Piece in 2013. It’s a little far in the past to remember how it went exactly but I do remember that I quite liked it (I gave it a four star rating too). It was a captivating, emotional story of healing and falling in love.

The Final Piece by Maggi Myers

the-final-pieceLife shouldn’t be about picking up the pieces. Beth Bradshaw has spent her life hiding from her tragic past. From the moment a trusted family friend steals her innocence until the moment another rescues her, she struggles to just survive. Surrounded by the comfort and protection of her extended family, Beth embarks on a journey of healing far from the horrors of her home. In her darkest moments, she meets a boy named Ryan. For one incredible summer, Ryan shows Beth what it’s like to act her own age. To feel free and let go. If only for a while. Years later, another tragedy threatens to shatter the life Beth has carefully crafted. When faced, yet again, with more pieces to pick up, Beth begins to question what her choices have cost her. Leaving her old life behind, she sets forth on a pilgrimage that will bring her back to the boy she could never forget. He wants to help her pick up the pieces of her life, but is she willing to do what it takes to become whole again? Can she trust him with a piece of herself?

Line

What I’ll probably read soon:

I’ve seen this book pop up everywhere AND I read one particular raving review from a blogger whose opinion I really trust so I knew I had to read this too. I haven’t read anything yet from this author so I’m ready to be pleasantly surprised.

PS I Like You by Kasie West

ps-i-like-youSigned, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in Chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk, and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters — sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery, and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

Line

So that’s it, what are you reading this week? Share your link in the comments below so that I can come and take a look !

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (21-09-2016)

  1. P.S. I Like You is on my next reads too! I’ve read The Distance Between Us before but didn’t enjoy it as much as The Fill-In Boyfriend! I liked the latter more and hope we both enjoy P.S. I Like You! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P.S. I Like You is the best YA romance all year. I can promise you. I can’t wait for you to read it. You’ll love all of the cuteness in that novel. I’ve convinced a few people to read and they all loved it. By far, it’s Kasie West’s best novel. Enjoy! 🙂

    Like

  3. A story with baking and breakfasts? That sounds so good! But I would need to make sure I have food at hand to eat while reading, haha!
    Jill also convinced me to get PS I Love You! 🙂
    Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

