New BFF : Magic of Books

P9781454913962

I’ve got myself a nice little bunch of new friends lately. So far I’ve featured in my Blog Friends Forever posts:

  • Martina of The Mystery Corner
  • Liis of Cover to Cover
  • Anne of Inked Brownies
  • Danielle of Vertigo and Tea
  • Drew of TheTattooedBookGeek
  • Jillian of Rant and Rave About Books

Today I present to you my newest friend Meg, who’s working behind the scenes of the lovely blog Magic of books. By the way, she has +500 followers this month! That’s really something right ?! She likes retellings, fairytales and cosy mysteries and even though we read somewhat other genres, she likes the sun and hates the cold and the winter just as much as I do! If you haven’t checked out her blog, go on over there and check out her map that she has of all the countries visited in the books she read.

Here’s what else you need to know about this ‘Magini’ girl:

Name: 
Magdalena, but I prefer Magda or even Meg

Age: 
33 on my ID.. about 20 in my head. Or maybe less :P.

What did you study or do you study now / what is your current job?
I studied IT technology and now I`m working as localization engineer at a “small” corpo, which basically means I sit at my desk 8 hours a day and click various buttons… soo exciting. But I`m in a great team, so we make it up for the job ;).

giphy

Do you have any other hobbies?
A few that come and go depending on my mood. The one that usually stays the longest and is probably the least productive is playing games – video, board, card games, whichever I can get my hands on and people to play with.

Other than that like photography, travel, some bits and pieces of creative stuff like decoupage, coloring, scrapbooking. I like plastic models too – I used to assemble these as a kid with my mom and a few years ago I decided I want to try again (there are some awesome spaceship models out there!) and I still love it.

1

Your favourite color?
Red, preferably darker cherry-red, but blood-red will do just fine 😀 And Blue – most of the shades, I only don’t like these boring gray-blues I could never decide between these two 😀
Then there’s black and green and… well, I like colors. And here’s a piece of my desk at work to prove it 😛

2

Do you collect anything (besides books)?
Well, I kind of like game gadgets – I’ve got some figures from my favorite games. I have few plastic models of space ships and other ships I’ve assembled (and few more that are waiting for their turn). Oh, and then there are these…

3

51tgibcbmdl

What’s the name of the book that you’ve had the longest? Have you read it?
I have no idea! There are some books on my shelves that were in my house longer than me and at some point, I’ve decided they are mine, but I couldn’t say which one was there the longest, probably the Anne of Green Gables series, but I’m not sure.

 

Have you ever regretted a book you purchased? A book that sounded so promising but you wished you’d have spent your money on another book after reading it?
Sure, there are few of these on my shelves. I’d give them to someone, but I’m not cruel :P. I might have to visit some library, maybe there will be some people who will like them, especially without paying.

Do you listen to audio books?
Sure I do! Love them, especially in winter time when it’s either too dark or too cold to hold a book. Plus I’m addicted to BBC Radio. Thanks to that I have an opportunity to listen to the stories I wouldn’t have the time or will to read.i-love-fantasy

Do you have a favorite genre?
Fantasy! I’m all in for magical worlds, strange beasts, elves, mages and all things fantastical.

What is the book highest on your wishlist right now?
I’m not much of a book-wishlist maker, but I’d love to get my hands on “Gemina”. Other than that there are some collection-filling books I’d love to have, like the rest of Discworld novels and one more Witcher book that I’m missing :).

51cxk1dinwl-_sy498_bo1204203200_

How is your library organized?
It’s not :D. When I transformed the room into library/workplace I had this big idea on how will I organize my books, how great they will look on the shelves, etc. I ended up with random placement of most of the books and only a few shelves that have more or less thematic or special books on them. Like the one with manga.

4

Do you read more ebooks or physical books?
Ebooks. I’d love to have all the books I read in physical form, but when you’re not from US it’s not so easy :P. But at least it saves me some space 😛

Do you have a favorite book?
Oh gosh, I just got a brain overload… At least a hundred of books went through my brain at such a speed I ended up with blank… Kind of a brain freeze without the actual freezing :P. I’ve got 8 books shelved as “favorite” on Goodreads and indeed I loved them all. There are some more I haven’t added there (yet) – a next part of the series, etc.So no, I don’t have just one favorite.

What’s the cover in your collection that you’re most proud of?
Cover? Not really, but I do have this huge Sherlock Holmes compilation that I’m proud of. And pretty much each book on the special shelf:

5

Do you have any idea how many books you own? <100, >100, >200, >300 …?
I don’t know how many ebooks, as for paper… counting… Oh, who am I kidding, I’m way too lazy to count them, but I’d say it’s over 200. Note: it looks like it was over 200 but it’s actually 470 ;-), looks can be so deceiving right?

What’s the title of the last book you purchased?
Mer-Charmer by Amy Bearce

Fourteen-year-old Phoebe Quinn is surrounded by magic, but she can’t muster any of her own. Her sister is a fairy keeper. Her best friends are merfolk. And all she does is dishes and housework.

When Phoebe finds out a terrible sea creature is awakening that preys upon the peace-loving merfolk, she becomes determined to help them, even though it means going with Tristan and Mina to their home deep in the sea.

Beneath the waves, Phoebe learns she’s more like her sister than she realized. The merfolk are drawn to her, and she can sense the magic of the sea all around her. Magic is finally at her fingertips, but that’s precisely why the stirring dark power under the waters decides it wants her most of all.

Now she must not only help the peaceful merfolk escape this ancient enemy, she must master her out-of-control powers. If she fails, she will die and darkness will rise and enslave the merfolk once more. But embracing her full power could cost her the very people she loves the most.

What was your favorite author when you were a child?
Aesop – I loved his fables. I don’t know what would I feel reading them now, but when I was a kid they were fantastic.

From which author do you have most books?
That  would be Charlaine Harris with 16 paper book and two or three ebooks and one audio.

6

Are there books you’ve read 2 or 3 times?
Sure, I might not be a big fan of re-reading, but there are few books I liked enough to get back to them. Some of the Discworld novels, Witcher series (only started re-reading these), Lord of the Rings, Enchanted, Neverwhere and some more I can’t recall right now.

How many books are there on your Goodreads challenge this year and how many have you read already?
300, but I’m counting the BBC Radio dramas, so my real goal was about one “normal” book a week and I’m way past that since I’ve read 82 books by now. True, some of these were about 200 pages long, so not much, but still…

Can you spell your name with the first letters of titles in your book case (name these titles+authors)?

M – Miecz przeznaczenia – Andrzej Sapkowski
A – Anubis – Wolfgang Hohlbein
G – Grillbar Galaktyka – Maja Lidia Kossakowska
D – Dziewiąty Mag – A.R. Reystone
A – Aurian – Maggie Furey
L – Legendy I – anthology by various authors
E – Eragon – Christopher Paolini
N – Niegrzeszny Mag – Eugeniusz Dębski
A – Alicja w Krainie Czarów – Lewis Caroll

Thanks Meg for answering my questions, it was really nice to get to know you better! If there are any other bloggers who want to be a BFF, give me a shout!

12 thoughts on “New BFF : Magic of Books

  1. …at my desk 8 hours a day and click various buttons”. She forgot to mention “and listen to audiobooks while being at it!” ;). And is that an X Wing miniature I see there?! :O Sooo cool!
    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who’s proudly displaying the entire Sookie Stackhouse collection XD. Another great post Inge/Magda Meg!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So great that you featured Magda. Reading this reminds me that I need to get cracking on those Discworld books. A lot of fantasy fans love them.
    And 300 book Goodreads challenge is a whole lot! Even with the BBC radio dramas thrown in, I think. Good luck on that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

