New BFF: Zeezee with Books

P9781454913962

Ready to meet another blog friend of mine ? I’m really happy to welcome Anais @ Zeezee with Books today on my blog. She’s a real Potterhead, and if you don’t know that yet I don’t know how you missed it ;-), but also loves fantasy and comics. She’s received 21 awards already, she loves quotes and if you are looking for inspiration you can find them here, she listens to audiobooks… hates vegetables, loves tea, her fave celeb is Joe Manganiello (because of the Magic Mike scene) and has a silly sense of humour (her words, not mine to be clear). But I’m giving too much away already, I’ll let you find out the rest by yourself:

maxresdefault

Name: Anais, but I go by Zezee on here

Age: 28, but I keep forgetting. I had to double-check my ID.

What did you study or do you study now / what is your current job?
Oh boy, I changed my major so many times when I was in college. Eventually, I settled on English with a minor in Caribbean studies. As for my current job, I work at a newspaper, where I spend the majority of my time doing data entry and proofreading articles. Sometimes I write.

Do you have any other hobbies?
Does playing Sims Freeplay count? If not, apart from reading and writing, I also draw when the mood strikes. But lately my drawing time has been eaten up by my investment in blogging. The last time I drew was last year February and I did this weird eye thing. I call it “Red Eye.”

thumbnail_red-eye

Your favourite color?
Light to medium shades of blue with a bit of green mixed in. Sea colors. I also like bright, happy yellow, and deep, dark, brooding purple.

Do you collect anything (besides books)?
No, unless comics count. I started reading comics last year and am hooked so I’ve started collecting them.

amulet-vol-1    the-wicked-and-the-divine1

What’s the name of the book that you’ve had the longest? Have you read it?
Umm… I guess that would be this old, tattered book of poetry that once belonged to my mom. I carried it with me when I moved to the U.S. from Jamaica because it reminded me of my mom while I was living in Jamaica and when I moved to the U.S. to live with my parents, it reminded me of the home I left behind. I’ve read it many times, often just reading my favorite poem over and over again.

thumbnail_jamaican-poetry-book-zezeewithbooks

Have you ever regretted a book you purchased? A book that sounded so promising but you wished you’d have spent your money on another book after reading it?
Ha! There are a few of those. Many of them I acquired last year when the uptick in my book buying began. At the moment, I regret purchasing Every Heart a Doorway in hardback. I didn’t expect it to be so short and though I used a coupon, I immediately regretting not waiting until it was published in paperback before purchasing it. I also regret getting Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, though I haven’t yet read it. It’s possible I might enjoy it, but I really don’t like reading scripts so I should have waited and sampled it first.

Do you listen to audio books?
Sometimes. I decided to give them a try this year but they don’t work for me if I’m trying to pay attention to the story. Such was the case with A Storm of Swords, which I was rereading by audiobook. Though the narrator was great, I found it hard to keep track of what’s going on. So now I am re-re-reading it by physical book to catch up to where I stopped on the audio book and then consume them both at the same time.

I also re-read You by Caroline Kepnes by audiobook this year. The story was fresh in my mind so I didn’t need to pay close attention to the story. But if you like thrillers and haven’t yet read You, I highly suggest trying the audiobook. It’s so great!

And currently, I’m listening to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, which I know by heart so no need for me to pay very close attention to the story. It’s the first I’m listening to its audiobook and I’m enjoying it so far. It makes me realize that I know the whole damn book by heart.

Do you have a favorite genre?
I do!! It’s fantasy. I love the escape it provides and all the details and skill that goes into building a great fantastical world and tricking the reader into believing in it.

What is the book highest on your wishlist right now?

thumbnail_velvet%2c-vol-3

Velvet, Vol. 3 by Ed Brubaker, illus. by Steve Epting. I really want to know what happens next. It’s a comic book about a woman who works at a spy agency and I love it!!! 😀

Also, since Penguin announced their Orange Collection Series, I now would like to get one or two of the books. The covers are so beautiful! At the top of my list are The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan (because of the badass dragon on the cover) and either East of Eden by John Steinbeck (because of the snake on the cover) or The Snow Leopard by Peter Matthiessen (because I’ve always wanted to read it). I can’t decide.

How is your library organized?
Well, I try to organize it by genre, but I ran out of space so now books go wherever I place them. Most are piled on top like this one.

shelf-overflow

Do you read more ebooks or physical books?
Physical books. I like to feel the book in my hands and to be able to easily flip to the covers to see if the illustrations or photos there match the story. Also, sometimes my head hurts and I’d rather not stare at a screen then.

51wvip1eyql-_sx327_bo1204203200_

Do you have a favorite book?
Favorite book? No. Favorite books? Yes :D. It’s hard to choose just one. Let’s see…of the books I placed on my Favorites shelf this year, I’d say the top ones are The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa, salt. by Nayyirah Waheed, Velvet, Vol. 1 by Ed Brubaker, illus. by Steve Epting.

What’s the cover in your collection that you’re most proud of?
Gosh, they’re so many! But I’ll go with Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki by Mamoru Hosoda, with art by Yu. I love the illustration and colors. I’m partial to covers with illustrations on them. I also love the U.S. covers of the Tale of Shikanoko series by Lian Hearn. So far, I only own these two but I plan to get all four. I just hope I like the story once I start reading.

Do you have any idea how many books you own? <100, >100, >200, >300 …?
I catalogue my books using Book Collectorz and after taking a guilty peep at it, it tells me that I own over 720 books. Don’t ask me how many of them I’ve read.

What’s the title of the last book you purchased?
At the time I’m writing this, that would be Watchmen by Alan Moore, illus. by Dave Gibbons and Moonshot: The Indigenous Comics Collection, Vol. 1.

thumbnail_bookhaul-20-1

I recently started listening to the Writing Excuses podcast, of which Brandon Sanderson is a host, and am working my way through their archive. In one of their earlier episodes, they analyzed Watchman, talking about why it’s so great, and that piqued my interest.

wx-wordpressbanner-wdtrophy2016

As for Moonshot, I discovered it on the Rich in Color blog and immediately added it to my wishlist when I read that it’s a collection featuring North American indigenous storytelling.

What was your favorite author when you were a child?
Carolyn Keene. I was hooked on Nancy Drew for much of my childhood. Mystery was my favorite genre until C.S. Lewis and Michael Ende came in my life and introduced me to fantasy.


From which author do you have most books?

It depends on how you look at it. J.K. Rowling is the answer because I own about 3 different copies of a few Harry Potter books and I also own A Casual Vacancy, the Fantastic Beasts book, the Quidditch book, Tales of Beedle Bard, and a Robert Galbraith book.

However, I own 15 Rick Riordan books so that could be the answer if copies don’t count: all the Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus, and Kane Chronicles books. Also a Magnus Chase book. Oh! And one extra copy of The Lightning Thief.

89f769746e40033d3fe9fde7c931ac7c

Are there books you’ve read 2 or 3 times?6d68e597d171e8e48c2eac43b0cdea99
I reread the Harry Potter books and Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness books often, usually when life sucks. I’m now rereading the Song of Ice and Fire books, the Percy Jackson books, and Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance cycle books. I love to reread.

How many books are there on your Goodreads challenge this year and how many have you read already?
60 books and I met my goal. Well, my goal was to read 60 things, not necessarily books since I’m now into comics and graphic novels and illustrated books. So that 60 is a mixture of full-length books, comics, graphic novels, illustrated books, and a novella.

Can you spell your name with the first letters of titles in your book case (name these titles+authors)?

I can spell my real name with them:

Albina and the Dog-Men by Alejandro Jodorowsky
Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Island Songs by Alex Wheatle
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

thumbnail_name-in-books-2

-as for my blog name, I’d have to use author last names:

Zevin, Gabrielle — The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry
Ende, Michael — The Neverending Story
Zub, Jim — Wayward, Vol. 1: String Theory (illus. by Steven Cummings, John Rauch, and Tamra Bonvillain)
Ellison, Ralph — Invisible Man
Eggers, Dave — The Circle

thumbnail_name-in-books1

In case you missed it, these are the BFF’s (Blog Friends Forever) I posted about before :

  • Martina – The Mystery Corner
  • Liis – Cover to Cover
  • Anne – Inked Brownies
  • Danielle – Books, Vertigo and Tea
  • Drew – TheTattooedBookGeek
  • Jillian – Rant and Rave About Books
  • Meg – Magic of Books
  • Betty – Bookish Regards

Thank you Anais for answering my questions! I’ve learned so much about comics and I also know just the person to call that I can trust to know the answer if I ever have a question about Harry Potter ! 

I’m still looking for other bloggers for my Q&A so if anyone else wants to answer my questions, give me a shout. Thank you ! 

25 thoughts on “New BFF: Zeezee with Books

  1. Yay! More BFF’s! I love reading these posts. It’s as relaxing as reading a magazine during the summer :).I’m noticing a dragon theme here btw ;). And my god, that Wolf Children cover is SO gorgeous!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Really great post…and images. It’s nice to ‘meet’ writers and bloggers on other sites. I don’t get out much to book shop and I love seeing the covers that go with the books! (also loved the “On a scale of 1-10…” HP meme!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

