This is My Genre Tell Me Yours Tag

newtagpic

Thank you Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek for nominating me for this tag. I’ll be sure to tag you too for an equally difficult tag  ;-). No really, everyone who doesn’t know British boy Drew who has an amazing talent for writing poetry, go and check out his blog !

The Rules:

  • Credit badass Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek as the creator of the tag, use the created tag name graphic and link back to his blog.
  • Answer the questions.
  • Tag as many people as you want.

maxresdefault

 1). What’s your favourite genre?

I actually have a few genres that I like to read but the one that I always seem to fall back on and that I have read the most of is this one:

unnamed

2). Who’s your favourite author from the genre?

200px-barry_lyga_2011

Hmm that’s really difficult! One of those pivotal authors for me was Barry Lyga. His books are not only about a serial killer but he also approached it from a very different angle than what I’d read before. The son of the serial killer was groomed  by his father you see, he knows more about crime scenes and how things are ‘done’ than anyone else and that inside knowledge is awesome, as well as following his internal battle and questioning (nature vs nurture you know) whether he will turn out like his father.

3). What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I love a mystery and I have a need to try to solve those mysteries myself, to figure things out I guess. I also really want the bad guys caught and brought to justice.. I’m a Disney girl craving a happy ending, what can I say.

trustnoone

4). What’s the book that started your love for your favourite genre?

Well I first read the whole detective series of Agatha Christie from the library, that was the very start but the first book in my own library that was really a thriller was Tryptich by Karin Slaughter if I remember correctly.

          1001004002844652    or     tumblr_mlz917abnd1spousfo1_5004

5). If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why?

6678884

Linwood Barclay was one of my early discoveries. His novels are not graphic at all but they have a good plot and enough suspense to keep you engaged. They often start out with just a random situation which feels like it could even happen to you and before you know it the main character (or family) is in it over their head in what seems to be a hopeless situation. He uses multiple storylines that threaten to come together in the end and keeps you in suspens. I think this book is a safe one to start out with.

6). Why do you read?

24d5eed8347e2279b7fd428317ded5ba

feather15

I tag (but feel free to ignore if you don’t feel like doing this tag):

17 thoughts on “This is My Genre Tell Me Yours Tag

  1. Love seeing Marshie’s tag around! I have added Never Look Away to my TBR, I like that you decided to go with a non-too-graphic recommendation because I’m squeamish!

    Like

  2. I can totally agree with this! I love thrillers about serial killers as well and Barry Lyga is awesome. Jasper Dent is probably one of my all time favorite series and character…

    Like

  3. Pingback: Celebrating The Little Things | The Belgian Reviewer

  4. Pingback: This is My Genre Tell Me Yours Tag – bookboodle

Leave a Reply

