WWW Wednesday (23-11-2016)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today.

untitled

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m Reading:

I was impressed with Betsy Reavley’s The Quiet Ones and I’ve always kept my eye out for other books. When I saw news that her latest novel was going to be published, I did everything I could to get my hands on it and I’ve succeeded. I’m reading it right now and yes, it’s another twisty and emotional read. She’s an amazing author really and I wish more bloggers would get to know her books.

Frailty by Betsy Reavley

frailtyHow far would you go to protect your family?
Danny and Libby are about to face every parent’s worst nightmare.

When eight-year-old Hope Bird disappears without a trace, from the idyllic village where she lives, life for her family will never be the same again. Her parents know she would never have gone off alone and the police have no idea where she is. Then a child’s shoe is discovered and the case takes an unexpected turn. Soon a suspect is identified but this is only the beginning.

Will they ever find Hope?

Frailty is a haunting, gritty, psychological page-turner about the choices we make.

Line

What I (recently) finished:

This is the last book that I reviewed and I want to give high praise again to this debut novel  of Nuela Ellwood because she deserves it. It’s not one for readers who want instant tension in a novel, but if you like a good build up and then a twist turning your emotions inside out, you might like this.

My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood

my-sisters-bones

Kate Rafter is a successful war reporter. She’s the strong one. The one who escaped Herne Bay and the memories it holds. Her sister Sally didn’t. Instead, she drinks.

But when their mother dies, Kate is forced to return to the old family home. And on her first night she is woken by a terrifying scream.

 

 

What secret has Kate stumbled upon?
And is she strong enough to uncover the truth . . . and make it out alive?

Line

What I’ll probably read soon:

I saw an amazing review of this novel and I bumped this one right up to the top of my reading list. I have high expectations for this one.

Ragdoll by Daniel Cole

ragdoll

A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together, nicknamed by the press as the ‘Ragdoll’. Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?

Line

So that’s it, what are you reading this week? Share your link in the comments below so that I can come and take a look !

 

22 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (23-11-2016)

    • I’m a wimp too you know, I can’t even watch a scary movie :-), but a book is different. I didn’t read as much of these in the past but somehow I’m really in a thriller episode and my radar picks those out (or I have too many blog friends who read thrillers and give me ideas). Happy reading to you too, I just went over to take a look at your list. In a dark dark wood seems promising !

      Like

  1. Love love love the sound of Frailty! I don’t think I’ve read anything from the author but judging by your words, I should solve this! I am reading Jill’s book this week and I’ll be reading In Her Wake just after. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. These all sound interesting! It’s been a while since the last time I read a psychological thriller so I’m thinking of picking up one soon. Will definitely check out these books. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

