New BFF: Secret Library

P9781454913962

I welcome Nicki from Secret Library today to my select group of Blog Friends. Nicki is quite the cook. She would love to try out making fish soup after reading the book I ♥soup by Beverly LeBlanc. On a more bookish note, she started her blog in 2012 but really started blogging regularly as from June this year. Nicki participates in Standalone Sundays, a weekly meme where standalone books are given some special attention. (hear, hear).

She likes several genres: women’s fiction – be it contemporary or historical, romance – but not too cheesy – and thrillers. There’s only one condition for that last one: a book has to hook her from the first few chapters or it doesn’t make it. She’s a really nice and friendly person and I invite you all to go to her blog and give her a like if you haven’t already!

Now on to the task at hand, here they are:

maxresdefault

Name: Nicki

Age: 48

What did you study or do you study now / what is your current job?
I’m a housewife and also a home-educator/ homeschooling Mum of a teenage boy. It’s been a wonderful if not a stressful journey at times. I’m much more curious about life these days always looking up something on the internet and discovering new sites, recipes, authors and of course new books!

Do you have any other hobbies?foto-1
When I’m not reading I go out with my camera to find a subject to ‘blip’ (post) on my photo-a-day journal at blipfoto.com. It’s a wonderful online community of amateur and professional photographers who all share an interest in photography. I recently posted my 900th photo but there a members on there who have been posting for over seven years!

Your favorite color?
At the moment I’d say it’s red.

foto-4

foto-3

Do you collect anything (besides books)?
I have a stamp collection, but not a serious one worth lots of money like some people. I also have a small collection of postcards from the site Postcrossing, a wonderful project that sees people receive postcards from all over the world, for free. Well, almost free! The main idea is that: if you send a postcard, you will receive one back from a random Postcrosser from somewhere in the world.

foto-1

What’s the name of the book that you’ve had the longest? Have you read it?
I still have my old children’s picture dictionary from the 1970s. Originally published in the 1950s it’s very old fashioned but charming at the same time.

foto-2

Have you ever regretted a book you purchased? A book that sounded so profoto-5mising but you wished you’d have spent your money on another book after reading it?
Yes! The First Casualty by Ben Elton was a book that looked for ages but I was so disappointed in it that I didn’t even bother finishing it. I didn’t like the main characters at all and the story didn’t grip me. Needless to say that I haven’t tried anything else by the author.

Do you listen to audio books?
Yes I love audiobooks and have recently thoroughly enjoyed listening to the James Bond series on audio.

Do you have a favorite genre?
I love crime, mysteries and thrillers but I am warming to contemporary women’s fiction too.

What is the book highest on your wish list right now?
The Taste of Persia cookery/ travel book by Naomi Duguid which I had the pleasure of reviewing for NetGalley. It was a PDF copy so I’d love to have the hardback edition in my kitchen.

foto-6

How is your library organized?
It’s organized by size which can be a problem when looking for a particular author! 😉

foto-3

foto-8

Do you read more ebooks or physical books?
I’m reading more ebooks as I joined for NetGalley recently. I do prefer physical books though as I get a lot more enjoyment from holding them and also visiting the library and bookshops.

foto-9

Do you have a favorite book?
Yes When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr, a memoir of when the author left Nazi Germany as a  child, with her mother and brother, to live in Britain just before the WW2. It’s part of a trilogy called Out of the Hitler Time and I highly recommend it.

What’s the cover in your collection that you’re most proud of?
The Complete Collection of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It’s a beautiful hardback version with a red cover and gold lettering.

foto-4

Do you have any idea how many books you own? <100, >100, >200, >300 …?
I’d say there are more than 300 on the shelves, they’re not all mine though as my husband and son are big readers too.

What’s the title of the last book you purchased?
It was a Kindle box set for 99 pence, called The Estate by Mel Sherratt, an author I’ve only just discovered through NetGalley. I signed up to her email list and found out about the offer on Amazon last week.

What was your favorite author when you were a child?
I don’t think I read much as a child, I probably spent more time outside on imaginary adventures.

foto-10

From which author do you have most books?
It’s probably Lisa Jewel who writes contemporary fiction. I grab second hand copies of her books when I come across them as they’re books I could read more than once.  

Are there books you’ve read 2 or 3 times?
Yes the Chronicles of Narnia by C. S Lewis, the Silver Sword by Ian Serraillier and When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr.

How many books are there on your Goodreads challenge this year and how many have you read already?
I was in a reading slump when I set my challenge of 24 books. I’ve read 55 so I’m really thrilled.

Can you spell your name with the first letters of titles in your book case (name these titles+authors)?

N = Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
I = In Defence of the Image by Robert Hainard
C = Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl
K = Kitchen by Nigella Lawson
I = Imperium by Robert Harris

In case you missed it, these are the BFF’s (Blog Friends Forever) I posted about before :

  • Martina – The Mystery Corner
  • Liis – Cover to Cover
  • Anne – Inked Brownies
  • Danielle – Books, Vertigo and Tea
  • Drew – TheTattooedBookGeek
  • Jillian – Rant and Rave About Books
  • Meg – Magic of Books
  • Betty – Bookish Regards
  • Anais – Zeezee with Books

Thank you Nicki for answering my questions! I’m so happy you wanted to do this!

Next up will be…. Donna @ Chocolatenwaffles’ Blog.. coming soon !

 

22 thoughts on “New BFF: Secret Library

  1. I love this little theme meme post thingie! How sweet to feature fave bloggers! I should do some blogger shout outs now that I’m out of school!
    Tell Secret Library that I collect postcards, too…but I collect the vintage ones from the early 1900s because they are beautiful and have great messages on the back…Halloween ones are the rarest. I should post my collection sometime so you guys can see it.
    Awesome post, darling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

