Hingston’s Box by Decima Blake

hingstons-box-def

What’s it about?

Since investigating the disappearance of fifteen-year-old twin boys, Hingston – a young, talented Detective Sergeant, has been tormented by night terrors. On waking, he remembers a vast, golden meadow that glows with warmth and carries the sound of rapid footfalls and trouser legs pushing through grasses. A curly haired boy runs tirelessly through the meadow. The promise of adventure is lost when the sickening ache of death seeps into Hingston’s bones. Feeling suffocated and tortured, melodic chimes calm him and his panic subsides.

Signed off and leaving the office, a key inexplicably falls from Hingston’s investigation file. Intrigued, he takes it with him, escaping London for Dartmouth where his investigative race begins. Stalked by a challenging elderly woman and hindered by his boss, his determination to solve the case draws him into the supernatural world that connects a murderous past to the present.

You can buy a copy of this book on Amazon UK | Amazon US.

Review

5_Star_Rating_System_3_stars_1457015858_81_246_96_2

When Decima Blake contacted me about Hingston’s Box I was immediately sold by the cover and the blurb but I was also a bit apprehensive because she sort of mentioned there was a paranormal element present. This can be a hit or miss for me but I’m happy to say that it did work wonderfully this time and in my opinion it even added a little zest to the story and the intrigue.

Jason Hingston is the detective in the story who’s put on leave because he’s having nightmares (or are they visions?) ever since he started investigating the case of two missing children, twins more in particular. A key and a box lead him to investigate an old case from the past and before you know it, he sees parallels between past and present and this enables him to predict or know in some way what is coming ahead. The paranormal element pretty much consists in the fact that he has visions of what happened in the 1860’s, as if he’s there. He’s also getting help in his little investigation from an old lady who seems to pop up out of the blue on numerous occasions. Is she a vision or is she real? This will keep you guessing but whatever the case, her unexpected encounters give him little pieces of wisdom which he learns to interpret and help him progress.

I’ve only read a handful of (cosy) mysteries so far so I’m anything but an expert in this genre and I’m still not entirely sure that mysteries are really my thing, because I admit I kind of missed the chase of getting on the heels of whoever did this. There are simply no suspects at all and I wondered how they’d ever find him if they weren’t even following any solid leads. Jason Hingston’s own investigation also rests mainly on his epiphanies.

The book predominantly talks about the past case and perhaps that was the reason that I was a bit more invested in the events of the past. There was a twist in the end too but I’m still not sure how I feel about the way we got there. I’m not a big fan of coincidence and luck in a police investigation to be honest. The ending was neatly tied up though so if you can turn a blind eye with respect to the investigation you’ll probably appreciate this story even more.

I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion. 

8 thoughts on “Hingston’s Box by Decima Blake

  1. I was thrown off by the fact that he was on leave for nightmares. They must have been super intense! I am assuming the past case must turn out to be connected or it doesn’t make much sense to me that the focus would shift in that direction?

    Like

  2. The word paranormal triggers a warning in my head 🙂 I think it only worked with Portmanteau for me. Maybe with a little more depth the story could have convinced you more. I read your comments on Danielle’s remark and I’m surprised at the lack of connection between past and present cases. That would have been a good way to add a nice edge to the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

