Wrong Number by Carys Jones #BookTour #Review

wrong-number-def

 

What’s it about?

A missing husband. Mysterious calls. And the biggest lie of them all.

Read with caution – you may never want to answer your phone again…

Will and Amanda Thorne are living the dream until, one day, their phone rings. Within 24 hours, Will is missing and Amanda’s world is shattered.

Who was on the phone? Where has Will gone?

Amanda is determined to find her husband and is drawn into a world of drug dealers, criminal masterminds and broken promises.

As the truth becomes clearer, she has to face the terrible possibility that she may never have known her husband at all…

Buy links

Amazon | Google Play | iBooks

About Carys Jones

thumbnail_carys_adj2

Carys Jones loves nothing more than to write and create stories which ignite the reader’s imagination. Based in Shropshire, England, Carys lives with her husband, two guinea pigs and her adored canine companion Rollo.

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Review

3-half-star-def

I’ll be honest, there were great parts and okay parts for me in this book. The last half of this book was definitely the most engaging part in my opinion. Let me go over this in detail. The prologue was amaze-balls but it also made one thing very clear to me and that’s the fate of Amanda’s husband. The following chapters were a flashback to Amanda’s picture-perfect life, with her picture-perfect husband Will. No children yet but I’m guessing they would have been picture-perfect too. Then one day she gets a call, someone asking for a man who obviously doesn’t live there. She doesn’t pay this a lot attention but the next day when she wakes up her husband Will is gone. Which is normal. He goes to work every day, only that day he didn’t kiss her goodbye, he got out of the house earlier than the alarm even went off and, what she soon discovers, he never arrived at work nor can he be reached.

The chapters that followed were a bit slow-going, especially since I already knew his fate by that time. It didn’t hold the desired tension and the only thing that kept playing in my head was WHY? Why would a man with a perfect marriage walk out like that? I kind of willed her to remember the phone call but she’s so naive that there was a longish lead-up towards remembering that call. But then things finally accelerate when she teams up with her ex-boyfriend Shane, who happens to be a rising detective, and when they jump in his car following a lead the pace definitely picks up. The situation Amanda gets herself into is an unexpected dangerous one. I was under the impression this would be more of a classic psychological thriller but this one was definitely action-packed. The reason why he left the house and went missing was quite mind-blowing. Didn’t expect this plotline at all and neither did I expect the gun-blazing ending.

Wrong Number had a good plot and the writing was easy and enjoyable. The dynamics with Shane were particularly great, they have so much history together and he’s nothing like her husband but you can feel they have unfinished business. The opposites between Shane and Will will definitely make you want to choose your favorite man so in the end I was quite satisfied with how things played out. There is however also an unfinished thread and I admit I was a bit disappointed it wasn’t given a nice little ending because it was a recurring plotline and quite an important and intriguing one too. It’ll be resolved in the sequel of this book and I can tell you that it holds a lot of promise. It might be even the key to liking it even better than this novel.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Check out the other blog stops of this book tour:

thumbnail_wrong-numberthe-blog-tour-3

 

6 thoughts on “Wrong Number by Carys Jones #BookTour #Review

  1. I really like the cover. It sounds like the story took its time to finally get going but it was still enjoyable. I don’t like unfinished business though so having threads undone is a bit disappointing but if there’s a sequel, it can be forgiven 🙂 Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well I have to say that if only part of a story is going to engage me, I would rather it be the last part 😉 It sounds like maybe the pacing was one of the biggest issues? I do like that this one seems to pack a hefty surprise of two. Did you enjoy the action aspect? It seems like you were not anticipating that so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • This was one of those reviews I told you about that was difficult to put in the right words. When I really dislike or like a book it’s easier, but this was a nice mix. But you are right, I rather have a novel getting better towards the end than the other way around :-). I wasn’t expecting any action when I started this and thought it would be a psychological thriller so that was a big surprise. I did really enjoy the end scenes but truth be told, I’m more one for mind games than action ;-). So it’s mostly me and not the book at fault for not rating this higher.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

