Whatever happened to Vicky Hope’s Back-up Man? #Blogtour #Guestpost

vicky-hope-def

What’s it about?

Twenty-one and insecure, Vicky Hope comes up with a plan on the eve of travelling the world with her high flying friend, Kat Lloyd: if she isn’t married by the time she’s thirty, she’ll marry her geeky best mate Mikey Murphy.

Fast-forward eight-and-a-bit years, Vicky, now Vee wakes up on her thirtieth birthday in Brighton, expecting a proposal of marriage from her arty boyfriend Jez. Instead he tells her their relationship is over and she has no choice but to return to her parents’ home.

Devastated and alone in her childhood bedroom, she decides she has nothing to lose and tracks down her two old mates. With shock, she discovers Mikey, now Murphy, is a successful app designer driven by his tragic upbringing. Kat, or Kate, never made it – but she hides a devastating secret, which threatens the happiness of all three.

Buy links

Amazon | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Laura’s previous book

51cetat5dkl

is available now:

AmazonKoboiBooks | Google Play

About Laura Kemp

thumbnail_kemp_laura

Laura lives in Penarth, Cardiff with her supportive husband, gorgeous son, playful dog and ancient cat. Writing is compulsive to Laura. With 15 years journalistic experience and several successful books to her name, writing is her escape and her love.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Guestpost

Reaching the mythic age of 30.

A year or so before I turned thirty, I had no reason to fear it. I was engaged, a homeowner and I had a great job.

Marital bliss and kids awaited. Or so I thought because a few months later, I woke up one morning and the niggles I’d ignored were in big, shouty headlines: he’s not the one for you. As painful as it was to untwine our home, our friends, our families and our lives, it had to be done. Because I was approaching thirty and in my mind that was a pivotal age – a landmark when I entered proper adulthood.

You see, I’d spent my twenties doing exactly what I wanted to without worrying about consequences. It had all been a huge laugh and even when it wasn’t, good times would come round again because I was young and rising on the thermals of hope and ‘who cares?’ And this was how I had fallen into the relationship with the man I was going to marry – it had started off as a holiday fling and became a huge dramatic adventure.

But as the big 3-0 loomed, I began to ask if this was what I wanted for the rest of my life. The heart-breaking answer was no. It would’ve been easy to stick, not twist, but I worried that if I didn’t end it then my doubts would mushroom and by then, children could be involved. And that was a different matter all together, that was serious.

A few weeks later, I celebrated turning thirty with my gorgeous friends, putting a brave face on being alone. Then I did what I always did in the face of upset: I curled up to lick my wounds then relaunched myself into orbit. But it was all hollow because I realised I wanted to grow up. I wanted a soul mate, not what was on offer: temporary flings and game playing.

That’s the trouble with thirty – it’s a crisis in what you have versus what you want, a reckoning of how far you’ve come and where you still need to go.

In the end, I poured it all into my work on the news desk at a Sunday paper and that was the love of my life… until I met the love of my life six months later. Phew.

So is it any wonder why books often focus on this period in our lives?

The age of thirty is such fertile ground of emotion, decisions and lessons learned and that’s exactly why WHATEVER HAPPENED TO VICKY HOPE’S BACK UP MAN? picks up with three friends circling thirty who get back in touch after drifting apart. It’s not straight-forward for Vicky, Kat and Mikey – when is it ever? And each of them has a back-story of why they’ve ended up where they are, which they have to reveal to each other to explain – and atone for – their actions… no spoilers though – you’ll have to read it!

Thank you Laura for stopping by my blog and writing such an interesting guest post about the big 3-0 upon my request.  

Check out the previous blog stops too:

thumbnail_vicky-hope-blog-tour-banner-2

3 thoughts on “Whatever happened to Vicky Hope’s Back-up Man? #Blogtour #Guestpost

  1. This is such a true post.

    “That’s the trouble with thirty – it’s a crisis in what you have versus what you want, a reckoning of how far you’ve come and where you still need to go.”

    Yes! 30 was such a monumental moment in my life. A real cornerstone. Also one of the best moments because I made some huge decisions that would forever alter everything for the best ❤ I learned so much about who I was as a person and women.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think many of us can identify! She wrote this post about the age of being 30 upon my request :-). Turning 30 really makes you reflect more than any other age I think and it forces you to make up the balance about where you thought you’d be and if you’re happy with your life so far. I was happy at 30, didn’t feel any pressure to be traditional and have children but I’m already afraid to turn 40 ;-).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

