The Tattered Gloves by J.L. Berg

tattered-gloves-def

What’s it about?

Head down.
Don’t look up.
Never make eye contact.

Those were the words I lived by growing up, the words that protected me in an unsafe home. But words are only letters and eventually even they couldn’t keep his hands off me.

Hoping to leave behind the shattered life of my past, I find myself in a boring, small town, with an aunt I’ve never met and at a school I loathe.

But soon I learn, not everything in this world is as black and white as I’ve determined. Sometimes those we are so quick to judge often need a second, third or even fourth time to make a first impression.

And often, there are friendships and even love waiting just around the corner, if we are brave enough to take the first step.

Am I brave?

Or will I hide behind these tattered gloves of mine forever?

You can buy a copy of this novel on Amazon UK | Amazon US | iBooks | Google Play | Kobo

Add THE TATTERED GLOVES to your to be read shelf on Goodreads!

Find out as soon as THE TATTERED GLOVES goes up for sale on other retailers by subscribing to J.L. Berg’s newsletter!

Watch the Trailer:

About J.L. Berg

J.L. Berg is the USA Today bestselling author of the Ready Series, The Walls Duet, and the Lost & Found Duet. She is a California native living in the beautiful state of historic Virginia. Married to her high school sweetheart, they have two beautiful girls that drive them batty on a daily basis. When she’s not writing, you will find her with her nose stuck in a romance novel, in a yoga studio or devouring anything chocolate. J.L. Berg is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency, LLC.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Newsletter

My review

5_Star_Rating_System_5_stars_1457015727_81_246_96_2

To tell you the truth, when I saw the cover of this novel my heart was already partly won over, I love it! I’m extremely happy to say that it really didn’t take very long to fall in love with the story too.

This story was excellently written, it has tragedy but also warm friendship and love. In the end this is a hopeful book with a positive message that made me feel good. You wouldn’t think so at first but ultimately this proved to turn into story about bravery. The touch of romance, so sweet, so pure, was a lovely addition that had me swooning big time.

Willow is 16 years old when she’s being shipped off to live in a little town called Sugar Tree (what’s in a name?) with an aunt she knew nothing about. Her mother never loved her like a mother should. Willow’s life with her mother was really sad to read about, and it became even more obvious in later memories how bad it was. She already had to act as an adult when she should have been taken care of.

That’s all about to change when she moves in with her aunt Addy who’ll act more like a mother than she’s ever known. It was obvious from the moment they met that it could only go upwards from thereon and the aunt was nothing but sweet and the exact opposite from her mother, but even so Willow was in full self-protection mode. When she arrives she keeps everyone around her at a distance, quite literally. Fortunately, she has Addy and Allison, people who let her feel loved, who don’t judge her and take her like she is, with tattered gloves and all. And then there’s Sam of course. He goes to school with her and she works in his father’s bookshop along with him.

It was so sweet to see Willow starting to trust Sam. He was such a wonderful guy, patient and kind, giving her space and letting Willow deal with her past at her own pace. He just wants to be there for her, he’s never pushy and does everything he can to make her feel comfortable around him. Yes, maybe not the patience a 16-year old boy would have in reality but I was happy with this fairy tale.

He was the kind of handsome that transcended style and and generations.

It wasn’t his clothes or the way he cut his hair. It was the feeling you got in the pit of your stomach when he looked at you with those dark green eyes.

The feeling that you were something more than ordinary.

Ever so slowly she opens up to him. I don’t think it’s so easy to write about closed off characters who literally created a distance between their own person and the rest of the world but here you feel them growing towards each other and you feel their strong connection. All you can still hope for then is a happy ending…

… it seemed anything was possible if you’re brave enough to try.

This novel is perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover and Kasie West. Highly recommended!

I received a free copy of this novel from the publicist in exchange for my honest opinion.

22 thoughts on “The Tattered Gloves by J.L. Berg

  1. Ohh, this one is new to me.
    I love Kasie West, but I didn’t like the book (Maybe Someday) I read by Hoover, so now I don’t know where to put this book, in my mind…
    You’re right! The cover is pretty.
    Great revew! 🙂

    Like

  2. There’s something, between the cover, the title and your words, that has me very curious. Tragic but cute, I like the sound of this. Too cute kills the cuteness, hahaha Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

