The Breakdown by B.A. Paris

the-breakdown-def

What’s it about?

If you can’t trust yourself, who can you trust?
It all started that night in the woods.

Cass Anderson didn’t stop to help the woman in the car, and now she’s dead.

Ever since, silent calls have been plaguing Cass and she’s sure someone is watching her.

Consumed by guilt, she’s also starting to forget things. Whether she took her pills, what her house alarm code is – and if the knife in the kitchen really had blood on it.

You can buy a copy of this book on Amazon UK | Amazon US.

Review

3-half-star-def

I haven’t read B.A. Paris’ widely praised novel Behind Closed Doors yet so I was able to start this novel with an open mind. It might not be a bad thing in this case because a lot of people might compare the book to the first unintentionally.

This being said, I still find it difficult to give this novel one single rating. I loved how the story developed towards the end but I must admit that the pacing was not super fast for a good part of this book, as most of the story relays all the extremely aggravating events that were happening to Cass without much intensity. The events were growing weirder exponentially but I never really felt fearful or tense by what happened to Cass. I was also expecting certain things simply because of its genre so my expectations didn’t make me doubt certain events as much as probably intended. I know I’m being mysterious here but it can’t be helped.

Right from the start and all through The Breakdown Cass feels extremely guilty for having driven past a woman in a car one stormy night only to hear the next day she was murdered. What’s worse is the fact that she even knows the woman who was murdered because they had lunch together some weeks before.

Cass starts to fear the murderer saw her and might think she saw him. Especially when strange things start to happen around the house. She gets mysterious phone calls for example. At the same time she starts to forget certain things. Her mother died of young dementia so of course she’s wary now that she might suffer the same. She’s never told her husband for fear of him not wanting to marry her any more if he knew what might be waiting for them in the future, so now she’s trying to cover it up as best as she can. Only things get way, way! out of hand. Her paranoia, her guilt and fear made this a perfect mix that kept me wanting to read on and on and on. Is she really suffering from a breakdown, is it dementia, is the killer onto her?

I can’t tell which one it is (or isn’t) but know that this one had a superbly crafted plot and the story knows a big revelation, thanks to a little thing called serendipity which changes matters drastically in how they stand up to that point. Cass finally becomes a woman who is no longer crippled by fear but goes looking for those most needed answers. More surprises are just around the corner and the ending was splendid. Let me correct myself, the ending was excellent, gripping and did I mention splendid?

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

22 thoughts on “The Breakdown by B.A. Paris

  1. Lovely review! I haven’t read Behind Closed Doors yet, either… but I want to read it, along with this one but can’t decide which I wanna read first. You’re right… you were being a bit mysterious in your review, but that’s a good thing because you’ve got me very curious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loving vague paragraphs, it makes me so curious 😀 I’m sorry the pace was a bit off and you never really got that tense feeling we expect from the genre. But hey, splendid ending? ME NEED THAT BOOK! Fantastic review!

    Like

  3. This is a great review Inge!! I read Behind Closed Doors and thought it was just average (3 stars) so I haven’t picked this one up. Your praise for the ending has me thinking I might give it a try sometime.

    Like

    • I’m wondering if I’ll rate Behind Closed Doors any higher, I’ll have to see. I heard from someone else it was also a bit slowgoing… The best part of this book was definitely in its tail, I only wish it had been consistent from the beginning. I’d love to hear how you rate if you ever read it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review! I read Behind Closed Doors and absolutely loved it. The Breakdown is on my radar, it sounds so much different then BCD which is another factor I really like! I love that you thought the ending was great! I need to read this now 🙂

    Like

  5. Great review! You definitely have me wanting to pick up my copy of The Breakdown now… I haven’t read Behind Closed Doors yet either; from the sound of your review it might just be better to read this one first.

    Like

  6. Great review. I totally recommend BCD. I have an ARC of this and I know I will compare it with the author’s first book. However, your description of the ending makes me want to read it even more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

