Happy Valentine’s Day

valentines-day

Where are all those hopeless romantics? I apologise in advance because this is a side of me you don’t get to see too often but I feel today is the perfect day to revel in it as much as I can ;-).

So I thought this might be the perfect opportunity to show some cover love with a heart theme. If you’re going to do this, today is the day right?! I’ve got 12 covers listed that really speak to me (ok if it has a heart on the cover there’s already a big chance that I’ll want to read it).

I’ve read the Sarah Dessen novels in the past (This Lullaby was great, Dreamland not so much) and most of the other books listed below are on my reading wishlist.

 

 

 

The cover that I like most out of all of these is False Hearts by Laura Lam but as much as I like that one (and it’s really fitting too you’ll have to admit when you read the blurb), I’m not entirely sure it’s a book meant for me. Here’s the blurb:

Orphan Black meets Inception: Two formerly conjoined sisters are ensnared in a murderous plot involving psychoactive drugs, shared dreaming, organized crime, and a sinister cult.

One night Tila stumbles home, terrified and covered in blood.

She’s arrested for murder, the first by a civilian in decades. The San Francisco police suspect involvement with Verve, a powerful drug, and offer her twin sister Taema a chilling deal. Taema must assume Tila’s identity and gather information – then if she brings down the drug syndicate, the police may let her sister live. But Taema’s investigation raises ghosts from the twins’ past.

The sisters were raised by a cult, which banned modern medicine. But as conjoined twins, they needed surgery to divide their shared heart – and escaped. Taema now finds Tila discovered links between the cult and the city’s underground. Once unable to keep secrets, the sisters will discover the true cost of lies.

So have you read any of these or are you drawn to any of these books?  

27 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Awww, I totally got my fix of love from all these hearty covers 🙂
    I don’t think I’ve read any of these books, but I don’t think this surprises you 😀 I do have The Rosie Project on my shelf waiting to be read though 🙂

    Hope you had (are still having?) a lovely V-day full of love and laughter and friends 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It surprises me you have The Rosie Project 😄. Yeah I had a lovely spa visit (on Sunday) and a Valentine breakfast at work today with my department. I even think my cat was a bit sweeter than usual. I hope you enjoyed today too?! I haven’t seen any pictures on Twitter of book gifts so I guess the men still haven’t learnt their lesson 🙄

      Liked by 1 person

      • Have you read The Rosie Project? Did you like it?
        Gosh, your V-Day sounds brilliant and a spa trip? How positively wonderful. I’ve never been to a spa. ha…
        And you’re so right… men really don’t seem to be catching on! 😀

        Like

      • No I haven’t read it yet but I have it as an e-copy. It was peer pressure that made me buy this novel :-). I still want to read it sometime but it’s not one that I’m dying to read really. Safe from reading, a (private) spa is perfect for helping you feel totally relaxed! I paid for it mind you, I don’t want you thinking I’m being spoilt ;-).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cool.. I think I got the book because I was of the assumption it was going to be humorous… we shall see.. I’m hoping to start it soon.. provided I get out of my current reading slump… gah 😀

        OH, my friend is a total spa-fiend.. she always goes and is always gushing about the experience… I would love to try it out someday myself.. but… that day will come when I get enough confidence.. For some reason I feel I’m not good with those places.. 😀 well, scared of them 😀 hahaha… ah now, you should be spoilt!!! But at the same time, who else knows how to pamper you better than yourself? 😉

        Like

      • Oh but it’s private you know, there are lots that you can hire for a few hours.. you didn’t really think I was getting naked in front of other people, no way :-). I mean, I totally could because I ‘have the body for it’ but still NO :-). The trick is to give something that you really want to do or have yourself and I know exactly how to pamper myself ;-).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love what you did with this day 😀 I’m so not into this all Valentine’s Day stuff, I want me and my love to be celebrated every day hahaha, but those covers are lovely and inspire sweet emotions!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

