New BFF: The Misstery

P9781454913962

Today I’m very excited to welcome Annie from The Misstery. She was still missing on my BFF list and there was a space begging for her name to be filled! Do check out her Misstery Awards where she lists the best villains, best tear jerkers and the novel with the best twist of 2016!

She reads historical fiction (23 reviews so far) but mystery (28), crime procedurals (25) and psych-thrillers (37) are still on top of her wishlist. If you like reading thrillers in any genre, you simply HAVE to know her blog. Her favorites of last month were The Trapped Girl, Silent Scream, Little Girl Lost, Evil Games and The Alibi. It’s crazy how much alike we are in our appreciation of books and I can say that I trust her judgement one hundred percent. She really is an amazing blogger who writes the best reviews and it’s no wonder that she got quoted in Distress Signals!

maxresdefault

Name: My name is Ana (as I’m from Spain), but I prefer Annie 🙂

Age: By the time this is published, I will be 26!

26

What did you study or do you study now / what is your current job? I studied Advertising and Public Relations, but I didn’t like it at all. I’ve been working for five years in an Internet company, writing reviews about mobile apps and lately, as a media buyer for CPA mobile subscription campaigns (BORING, don’t bother, it’s not that interesting :P)

Do you have any other hobbies? Even if you don’t believe it, reading isn’t even my biggest hobby. I love movies and have been in love with cinema ever since I was a kid. I have a great memory for actors and titles!

Your favourite color? I’d say blue, pink and black.

Do you collect anything (besides books)? DVDs and BluRays. I have hundreds… and I can’t help it, I keep buying them.

What’s the name of the book that you’ve had the longest? Have you read it? I moved from my parents’ home this year and I brought Station Eleven with me… I still need to get to it!

Have you ever regretted a book you purchased? A book that sounded so promising but you wished you’d have spent your money on another book after reading it?

after-50-shades-of-gray-movie-review-lifepopper-laughing-time-3

Plenty of times! A few years ago I saw that everyone was reading something called 50 shades of Grey… and I couldn’t stop laughing all the way through it. Needless to say, I didn’t buy the other two.

4d7d17bac04fe58cfb60c65e837111be

Do you listen to audio books? I have never listened to one! But I’d love to try them out. However, I think I would get a bit frustrated because I read pretty fast and audio books would slow me down haha But I will try and listen to one this year!

Do you have a favorite genre? You all know it… everything crime-related! Any kind of mystery or psychological thriller.

08180c1938b0c7c364e851704d0b7923

What is the book highest on your wishlist right now? One that I don’t own but wish I did? The Marsh King’s Daughter sounds amazing!

51rbqrpcyfl

‘I was born two years into my mother’s captivity. She was three weeks shy of seventeen. If I had known then what I do now, things would have been a lot different. I would have been a lot more understanding of my mother. I wouldn’t have adored my father.’

When the notorious child abductor known as the Marsh King escapes from a maximum security prison, Helena immediately suspects that she and her two young daughters are in danger.

No one, not even her husband, knows the truth about Helena’s past: they don’t know that she was born into captivity, that she had no contact with the outside world before the age of twelve – or that her father raised her to be a killer.

And they don’t know that the Marsh King can survive and hunt in the wilderness better than anyone… except, perhaps his own daughter.

How is your library organized? I try to organize them by color… but sometimes it’s not impossible. And plus, here I only have the books I got this year and a few selection… the others are still at my parents’.

Do you read more ebooks or physical books? More physical, but I also read plenty of ebooks. If the cover is pretty… I want the actual book!

Do you have a favorite book? Ugh… what a difficult question! I have too many! I will list some I think I haven’t mentioned before: Gods in Alabama (Joshilyn Jackson), Water for Elephants (Sara Gruen), White Oleander (Janet Finch), The Green Mile (Stephen King), Big Little Lies (Liane Moriarty).

What’s the cover in your collection that you’re most proud of? Emma Cline’s The Girls! LOVE IT.

51vsagrovl-_ac_us218_

Do you have any idea how many books you own? <100, >100, >200, >300 …? No idea, as I said most are at my parents. Here, at my new apartment, I’d say 200?

ana-3

ana-4

What’s the title of the last book you purchased? A land more kind than home. Can’t wait to read that one!

What was your favorite author when you were a child? Enid Blyton!

From which author do you have most books? Mary Higgins Clark I guess. My grandma had them all… and I had a lot of free time.

Are there books you’ve read 2 or 3 times? Malory Towers and St Clares… and also Sweet Valley books. I read them over and over again.

How many books are there on your Goodreads challenge this year and how many have you read already? 80! So far 19.

490956388_1280x720

Can you spell your name with the first letters of titles in your book case (name these titles+authors)?

Ashes of Fiery Weather (Kathleen Donohoe)
Night Film (Marisha Pessl)
Necessary Lies (Diane Chamberlain)
In Her Wake (Amanda Jennings)
Every Dead Thing (John Connolly)

Thank you Annie for answering my questions! I’m so happy you wanted to do this!

In case you missed it, these are the BFF’s (Blog Friends Forever) I posted about before :

Martina – The Mystery Corner
Liis – Cover to Cover
Anne – Inked Brownies
Danielle – Books, Vertigo and Tea
Drew – TheTattooedBookGeek
Jillian – Rant and Rave About Books
Meg – Magic of Books
Betty – Bookish Regards
Anais – Zeezee with Books
Nicki – Secret Library
Donna – Chocolatenwaffles’ Blog
Chitra – Books & Strips

20 thoughts on “New BFF: The Misstery

  1. I love this feature, especially the fact that you asked some unique questions I haven’t read on other tags!! Annie is awesome, love her blog and chatting with her…I knew she liked movies but had no idea how much:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great interview. I like the questions that you asked. Annie is awesome and her blog is just wonderful though terrible for my TBR. I chat with her almost daily but I didn’t know a lot of stuff about her and I can’t imagine her reading 50 Shades of Gray although her laughing through it is something I can see lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

