Bookazines book haul

discussion-post

I came across the mention of a bookazine only a month or so ago. I’d never heard of it but I was curious. In case you’re not familiar with the concept, it is indeed a book in the format of a magazine (minus the pictures).

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any books turned into a magazine in English so far. Weird isn’t it?

Even though it doesn’t have the feel of a real book (paperback or hardback), and believe me I know nothing can beat a real book, I can still see some advantages:

  • it’s much much cheaper than a book (only 2,99 €) which means you can have 6 of these here instead of one paperback.
  • it doesn’t take up any space in your bag and it’s certainly not as heavy as a real book
  • you don’t have to worry about cracking the book’s spine
  • you might be more inclined to lend it out to your mother/sister/best friend

Libelle Bookazine (for Dutch readers) has plenty of titles (even MJ Arlidges first book!) and I decided to order two that interested me. Delivery was fast and they deliver worldwide so I can only hope they’ll expand their titles to English ones too :-).

thumbnail_IMG_0917

thumbnail_IMG_0979

thumbnail_IMG_0980

If you’re interested in the two books I chose, this is what they’re about :

We are all made of starsWe are all made of stars – Rowan Coleman

What if you had just one chance, one letter you could leave behind for the person you love?

What would you write?

Stella Carey has good reason to only work nights at the hospice where she is a nurse. Married to a war veteran who has returned from Afghanistan brutally injured, Stella leaves the house each night as her husband Vincent, locks himself away, unable to sleep due to Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

During her nights at the hospice, Stella writes letters for her patients containing their final wishes, thoughts and feelings – from how to use a washing machine, to advice on how to be a good parent – and usually she delivers each letter to the recipient after he or she has died.

That is until Stella writes one letter that she feels compelled to deliver in time to give her patient one final chance of redemption…

The other book (De kinderbarak) isn’t available in English. Valentine Goby is a French author and this novel isn’t translated into English yet. A real shame because she won a prestigious prize with it in France. I chose this title because it’s about a 20-year old pregnant woman who’s being deported to Ravensbrück in 1944. She knows there will be little chance of survival for her unborn child but will do everything she can to protect it. This is a story about hope and survival.

So now I’d like to hear from you: if you could read a Bookazine in English, would you be interested? Did you know about these? Do you know if there are any in your country?

30 thoughts on “Bookazines book haul

  1. I’ve never heard of a bookazine before but I love the idea. I read a lot of ebooks because I struggle to hold print books so bookazines sound like they’d be great for me. I hope they eventually print some English versions as I’ll be at the front of the queue to buy them. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you teach! I hope so too, I don’t understand why I couldn’t find any.. They have those really small books with paperthin pages that annoy me because you have to be really careful when you turn a page, but not this? At least this would be useful 🙂

      Like

  2. This is an entirely new concept to me! I love the idea of the cost reduction and convenience. I am sure it is something I could enjoy reading all of the time though. The print might be a struggle for my eyes. I do think this is super ideal for travel though!

    Like

    • I think so too, it’s a great way to step into it if a real book seems too much. Plenty of people think they don’t have time to read a book and this might seem as if they can just put it away like a magazine. If it’s a real good story they won’t be able to though :-).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always thought it would be great if modern books had images and graphics and color to spice things up (especially digital ones, I mean, why not?) Concerning the paper version, I feel like my grandma owned some books similar to this concept, I think from the 1960’s? At any rate, there were magazines that were purely stories, like True Confessions. Strange how something like this can bring back a memory. I loved to curl up at her house and haul out all of her old books and magazines and just read…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well I like those little extras as well but I like this too, it’s great to mix it all up from time to time and one doesn’t exclude the other. It doesn’t surprise me either that things from the past come back in a modernized version, it happens with clothes and furniture so why not this too? Thank you for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

