WWW Wednesday (05-04-2017)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today.

untitled

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m reading:

I couldn’t pass up on the opportunity to read the second novel in the DC Ruby Preston series, now could I?

Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell

Sleep Tight GR

Line

What I (recently) finished:

The title of this novel nudged me into taking a closer look and the blurb convinced me even more. The promise of a serial killer who collects fingers was all it took to get me interested. This was an enjoyable read, in the same league as Robert Bryndza and Caroline Mitchell’s novels and I think this series really deserves some more notabilty.

The Trophy Taker by Sarah Flint

The Trophy Taker GR

Line

What I’ll probably read soon:

This novel has an INTERACTIVE cover which is just soo cool.. you get to see the pear being eaten by flies. Every book should come with an interactive cover if you ask me, so yes, I want to read this book because of that, but also because I want to know more about the Lizzie Borden case.

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

See What I have Done

In this riveting debut novel, See What I Have Done, Sarah Schmidt recasts one of the most fascinating murder cases of all time into an intimate story of a volatile household and a family devoid of love.

On the morning of August 4, 1892, Lizzie Borden calls out to her maid: Someone’s killed Father. The brutal ax-murder of Andrew and Abby Borden in their home in Fall River, Massachusetts, leaves little evidence and many unanswered questions. While neighbors struggle to understand why anyone would want to harm the respected Bordens, those close to the family have a different tale to tell—of a father with an explosive temper; a spiteful stepmother; and two spinster sisters, with a bond even stronger than blood, desperate for their independence.

As the police search for clues, Emma comforts an increasingly distraught Lizzie whose memories of that morning flash in scattered fragments. Had she been in the barn or the pear arbor to escape the stifling heat of the house? When did she last speak to her stepmother? Were they really gone and would everything be better now? Shifting among the perspectives of the unreliable Lizzie, her older sister Emma, the housemaid Bridget, and the enigmatic stranger Benjamin, the events of that fateful day are slowly revealed through a high-wire feat of storytelling.

Line

So that’s it, what are you reading this week? Share your link in the comments below so that I can come and take a look !

25 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (05-04-2017)

  1. I have Sleep Tight to read too. How are you finding it?

    I love the idea of an interactive cover. With most people reading on tablets or ereaders now it seems like there should be more of these.

    Like

  2. You have interesting books! I have one Caroline Mitchell book in my TBR (Witness) and now I’m more excited to read it. The Trophy Taker sounds thrilling so I need to check that one out!

    Like

    • It works like this: you have to download an app on your phone or tablet and when you open it and move the lens over the cover in front of you, you suddenly see a very cool animation on that cover. The ants were eating the pear away here. I’m sure you can google and see it if you really want. Thanks for stopping by. Hopping over to yours now!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. These are not my go-to genre by any means but that interactive cover sounds awesome! I’d definitely love to see more books with one.
    Geekerella was my last read. I’m currently reading Daughter of the Pirate King 🙂 No plans for future readings but I have a huge TBR so it won’t be too hard to find something hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have never heard about interactive covers until now. I need to check that out and see how it works.

    I also have a copy of Sleep Tight. I hope you are enjoying the book so far. I can’t wait to read it soon. Happy reading and have a fab weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the idea of an interactive cover! I’m dying to read Sleep Tight but as I haven’t started the series I wonder if I’d enjoy it as a standalone :-/
    Happy reading!! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

