The Trophy Taker by Sarah Flint #BlogTour #BookReview

The Trophy Taker

What’s it about?

He’s watching, waiting… and counting. The next gripping serial killer read in the DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford series, from the bestselling author of Mummy’s Favourite. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

He keeps each one floating in formaldehyde to stop them from rotting. Each finger denotes a victim, tortured and butchered, their heart ripped out and discarded, replaced instead by symbols of their treachery. He sits alone admiring his trophies weekly; each and everyone of them guilty in his eyes. And now more must pay.

But who or what links the victims?

DC ‘Charlie’ Stafford is already investigating a series of escalating racist attacks and it now seems she has a vicious serial killer on her patch. With no leads and time running out, the team at Lambeth are at near breaking point.

Something has to give… and all the while he’s watching, waiting… and counting.

Buy links

Amazon | Kobo | iBooks | Google Play

Connect with Sarah Flint

Facebook: @SarahFlintBooks
Twitter: @SarahFlint19

About Sarah Flint

thumbnail_Flint_Sarah

With a Metropolitan Police career spanning 35 years Sarah has spent her adulthood surrounded by victims, criminals and police officers. She continues to work and lives in London with her partner and has three older daughters.

Review

5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars_1457015877_81_246_96_2

I really enjoyed reading The Trophy Taker. This is the second novel about DC Charlotte Stafford but is perfect to read as a standalone novel. The story is set in London this time and Charlie is a withered and serious detective. Her hair and clothes could use some improvement but there’s nothing to say about her skills, or of those of the rest of her team. They are tightly knit and it was great to see them working together and see the contributions from other team members too.

The story starts out with her troubles with Cornell Miller who carried out a racist attack on an old, kind man who’s been hiding in his house ever since. She’s vowed to protect Moses and will try her utmost but will have to divide her time chasing The Trophy Taker too. The first victim of this killer is found in a cemetery, her heart is ripped out and tossed on the ground, her ring finger missing.

I was happy to read about some real police work in this novel and thanks to this outstanding detective work suspicion falls fairly soon on not one but no less than three possible suspects. All of these men have something to hide and a possible motive. I never had a problem believing their motive. The author kept me guessing good and let me have a good time figuring it out on myself.

I wasn’t entirely surprised who the killer finally turned out to be and I knew for sure a few pages before Charlotte Stafford did, but then I really don’t need much to get on the right trail ;-). It was still entertaining to see how it all played out and how she really got on the right track, involving Cornell Miller even in her chase for the killer. She did an excellent job of letting these two storylines mix in the end.

If you like a nice police procedural novel, this novel is certainly comparable to Robert Bryndza’s series and I can definitely recommend adding The Trophy Taker to your reading list.

I received a free copy from the publisher, Aria, in exchange for my honest opinion. 

Follow Aria

Website: http://www.ariafiction.com
Facebook: @ariafiction
Twitter: @aria_fiction
Instagram: @ariafiction
NetGalley: http://bit.ly/2lkKB0e
Sign up to the Aria newsletter: http://bit.ly/2jQxVtV

Take a look at the rest of the blog tour too, next up will be: Chick Lit Club Connect

thumbnail_The Trophy Taker - blog tour banner (1)

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “The Trophy Taker by Sarah Flint #BlogTour #BookReview

  1. The remark on the detective’s hair and clothes made me laugh, I love this detail, it makes me want to know more about it. It sounds as if this character is unique! Great review! It sounds like a strong whodunit with enough meat to keep you interested!

    Like

    • I can really distinguish all the detectives in series in these ways: here’s the unkempt and shabby clothes, Ruby (Caroline Mitchell) is poor as hell, Erika (Robert Bryndza) is stubborn and impulsive (it’s Moss in that one that needs a dress code). Now that I think of it, yes I do notice clothes a lot. Lol. Anyway, yes this was a nice introduction to a new detective series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s