Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell #BlogTour #BookReview

Blank bookcover with clipping path

My stop on the Sleep Tight blog tour today ! Be sure to blog hop to my other three fellow bloggers today too @ Emma The Little Bookworm, Best Crime Books and More and Sean’s Book Reviews.

What’s it about?

Close your eyes … Just pray you don’t wake up.

A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise their twisted fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of her lover, Nathan Crosby, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.

Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer before Nathan becomes the number one suspect. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove his innocence.

Ruby is in too deep, knowing that the cruel individual is getting ever closer, looking for his next beautiful victim. But can she stop a killer hell-bent on fulfilling their horrific desires – before it’s too late? And how well does she really know the man she loves?

A terrifying, addictive serial killer thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for readers of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott.

You can purchase a copy of this novel on Amazon UK | Amazon US.

About the Author

Caroline Mitchell

 

A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences.

Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex. She now writes full time.

 

Connect with Caroline Mitchell

www.caroline-writes.com
https://www.facebook.com/CMitchellAuthor/
https://twitter.com/Caroline_writes

Review

I’m super happy to be on the blog tour of Sleep Tight. I was left craving more of Ruby’s adventures right after I finished Love You To Death, a novel I absolutely loved (and I mean top 10 of 2016), and I seriously couldn’t wait to dive into another case. What could she possibly have in store next? Well I’m already eagerly waiting for book 3, but let me first elaborate on what made me love this gripping read so much.

In the sequel to ‘Love You To Death’ Ruby is chasing a killer obsessed with fairy tales. His work consists of transforming them all into princesses, personalizing a fairy tale character. No happy endings here though because the renditions of your favorite modern-day fairy tales are based on the much darker versions, with violence, gore, sexual threat and abuse all part of the plot. The killer keeps the girls in a dank basement, which he shares with a herd of rats, to perform his ‘art’. He’s entirely mental but those critters REALLY gave me the creeps as well. You better tuck your legs under yourself when reading :-).

I still love reading about Ruby’s flirtation with the other side of the law. I mean this quite literally because bad boy Nathan is suddenly implicated before the investigation is even in full swing. Of course he claims it’s a set up but words to the wind, the police are hounding him and Ruby is caught in the middle. She believes him but is pushed and pulled on both sides. DC Downes wants to arrest him and while Ruby is trying to protect him she’ll have to find the real killer soon because she can’t keep them off his back for long. On top of her lover’s problems his brother is also breathing down her neck again. He always makes Ruby’s skin crawl but I enjoy reading about their interaction so much, they’ve got their own force field of toxic tension between them, always floating somewhere between danger and chemistry.

Just like I knew she would Ms. Mitchell delivers another captivating story with a gripping plotline. I do have to tell you that it’s not so much the chase in figuring out who the bad guy is but trying to find out who else is on his wishlist and keeping them out of his hands until they can catch him, as well as figuring out why he’s trying to frame Nathan for it. This last part was what kept my thoughts churning but when it came out, I honestly didn’t expect it at all, such a shock!

You can read this one as a standalone, but I’d recommend reading the first in the series.

I received a copy of this novel from the author and publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

Check out the other stops of the blog tour :

untitled

Advertisements

20 thoughts on “Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell #BlogTour #BookReview

  1. Fab review and I agree with you about everything. Its so creepy how Lenny is disgusting, weird yet so fascinating. I wouldn’t want him to get cut from the story lol. And yeah, the final reveal shocked me too. Towards the end I was guessing someone else but wow, that was a shocker.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I think I read a review for this book over at Dee’s blog?
    Anyway, brilliant review and the blurb has got me hooked like so many! 😀 Sounds exactly the amount of creepy I want to dig into!
    Hmm… decision to be made about Book #1 though… ah, OK, just read your reply to Danielle… gotta start with Book #1! I want the beginnings… Thanks for the rec.. again! 🙂
    *I seriously need to keep you away from my TBR pile* XD

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think this was a brilliant idea to have the love interest on the other side of the law and it makes this detective series unique and special. You’ll get to reading it one day I’m sure… I still have 5 Angela Marsons books I want to read so we’re in this together ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s