Deceived by Heena Rathore P. #Guestpost

Deceived def

What’s it about?

How well do you know your loved ones?

A girl struggling to cope with the murders of her mother and five-year-old brother.
A journalist chasing the ghost of a potential serial killer.
A thirteen-year-old girl who slaughtered her parents.
And a revenge-driven psychopath who is about to destroy everyone’s life.

After 9 years, a young writer is still coping with the brutal murders of her mother and five-year-old brother, as she moves into a house of horrors, unwittingly to start a new life with her lover. Will friends and family be able to redeem Ally out of the impending doom in time? Will her infallible love become the key to the destruction of her already fragile world? Will madness prevail over love; true love over revenge?

Deceived is a gripping psychological thriller that mazes through the deepest, darkest emotions of human mind through the story of a vulnerable girl who treads in the mist of deception bred from a long unforgiven betrayal.

About the author

thumbnail_Author Profile Picture

Heena Rathore Pardeshi is a novelist, novel critic, as well as a book reviewer. She is also the Editor In Chief at a publishing house and an acclaimed YouTube Podcaster. An award-winning writer, she has won several NaNoWriMos and JuNoWriMos since 2014.

A fan of crime-thrillers, apocalyptic fiction and slasher movies and series, she draws inspiration from the works of legendary writers such as Stephen King, Dean Koontz and Sidney Sheldon. She’s also a fan of Steven Spielberg and M. Night Shyamalan.

An introvert and freethinker, Heena prefers neatness to chaos – in her fictional themes as well as in her real life. She has a special place for German Shepherds and books in her heart.

Heena is twenty-six years old and lives in Pune, India with her beloved husband, Vishal – a successful entrepreneur, in a house full of books, music, and love. Heena passionately creates vivid fictional worlds; some to read and cherish, and some to live in.

Connect with Heena

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Guestpost

How Reviewing Books Helped Me Write My Own Novel

In the words of Stephen King, “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

I’ve been reading books all my life. I read fairytales as a child, a lot of romance novels in my teenage years and then gradually moved on to more mature genres like mystery, thrillers, dark fiction, science-fiction, etc.

In the summer of 2014 I decided to create a blog and start reviewing the books that I read, mostly because I kept forgetting certain things about the books I read ages ago. After a few months of reviewing, I was given the opportunity to read books and review them on my blog.

I was beyond myself when the first author who asked me to review their book approached me. I felt so happy and unreal that someone wanted my opinion about his or her book. That someone cared about what I have to say.

That was when I started reviewing books in the real sense. I felt very responsible and humbled while reading that particular book. I paid a lot of attention to each and every single sentence because this book was special. And then I wrote the review, making sure to include all the points I noted while reading the book.

So what was the difference when I read books before and when I read them now for reviewing?

I was extra attentive to not let any important stuff go past my eyes, to not miss any plot holes, or any mistakes, or a brilliant quote or a lovely paragraph that sang the wisdom of life.

So all in all, I paid a LOT of attention to the text in front of me, and so I’ve been doing, with each and every single book, I’ve read since 2014.

It’s been three years and I have read and reviewed more than 200 books, but nothing has really changed. I’m still as attentive today as I was on that first day (or for that first book). I still feel responsible and it is this feeling of responsibility that made me a decent reviewer.

Being attentive is what helped me pick up on and absorb those tiny technicalities, those subtle strokes of ingenuity that made the books so engrossing. As I discovered later, I had unknowingly picked up on those very things, which are taught in Creative Writing workshops.

I learned all the main writing techniques like plot progression, breaks, tension build up, chapter breaks and splits, character arcs, suspense building, etc, etc, etc. I learned all these things from reading the books attentively, from reading the books for reviewing.

Reviewing taught me how the opening of a book should be, how dipping the middle can be and how brilliant an ending could be. Reviewing taught me how to keep the tension flowing from one chapter to another, how to keep the reader engaged in those dreaded middle parts of the book and how to present false hope and engage red-herrings. Reviewing taught me how to make or break an ending by either revealing too much or saying too little.

Reviewing taught me how to write a book. Period.

That makes books better.

I’ve never officially learned writing, yet when I started writing my own book it was like I already knew whatever there was to know, to begin with. Then I learned the rest of the things as I went along. I was able to complete my book (a task in itself) because I knew the most important thing: what works and what doesn’t.

So if I have to give credit to just one thing or circumstance in my life that made me a writer, or rather a strong writer, then reviewing books will be it.

I’m feeling really excited after this guestpost because she is so right! I think it really helps if you start out as a blogger/book reviewer. That blurb also really got my attention and that cover with the little trail of blood dripping down her leg, my god, I totally love that cover! So I’ll be reviewing this one in June, I can’t wait to read it! So what do you think about all of this? Yay or nay?

21 thoughts on “Deceived by Heena Rathore P. #Guestpost

  1. This book sounds really awesome! Loved the subject of this guest post. Blogging/reviewing/reading books definitely gives you a good background to how to write a book, especially since you’ll know exactly WHAT you’d like to see in a story and HOW it should be delivered! Thank you for sharing this and looking forward to your review for this book! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

