Woman of the Hour by Jane Lythell

Woman of the hour def

What’s it about?

StoryWorld is the nation’s favourite morning show, and producer Liz Lyon wants to keep it that way. Her job is to turn real-life stories into thrilling TV – and keep a lid on the scandals and backbiting that happen off-stage.

But then simmering tensions erupt at the station, trapping Liz in a game of one-upmanship where she doesn’t know the rules. As the power struggle intensifies, can Liz keep her cool and keep her job? Does she even want to?

In this gripping novel of power, rivalry and betrayal, Jane Lythell draws on her experiences of working in the glamorous, pressurised world of live TV.

amazon uk amazon com

Review

3-half-star-def

Liz Lyon is the woman in Woman Of The Hour who showed me the other side of what we usually see on our tv screen. A job at a television station is something that seems galaxys away from your ordinary joe’s life, it speaks to the imagination, something one can only dream of and seems nothing but exciting, glitzy and glamerous but is it really all glam and shine? I believe that you’ll have a much more realistic image of the tv world after finishing this novel.

Liz is a woman trying to hold her own in a world dominated by men. Her job? To comfort, put out small fires, deliver bad news, stand up for her people against angry publicists and mitigate time and again between several characters with quite a bit of an ego.

She’s got a diverse cast of characters under wings, there are 8 of them: there’s tv presenter Fizzy, cook Ledley, agony-aunt Betty, researchers Simon and Molly, astrologer Gerry, runner Ziggy and an intern new-comer Harriet under her supervision. Their problems become her problem and believe me when I say that they all have their big and smaller problems that she’ll have to solve. While she’s juggling to placate and appease everyone, she too has her own personal problems. I really liked that insight I got into her as a mother and in another role than in the work place.

Personally, I thought the television world was much more of an individual scene, but if this is anything like the real thing then they are more tightly-knit than in a normal (male dominated) corporate environment like the one I’m working in so I was pleasantly surprised in that respect but it really isn’t a gift to Liz to have to choose her battles and be the middle woman every time again.

This novel held a lot of drama and intrigue, there’s plenty of lies and deceipt, affairs and blackmail going on behind the scenes of StoryWorld. This is not my usual kind of read perhaps but I still enjoyed watching their life and world from the sidelines and it was written in an easy and compelling fashion. After reading this, I’m not really all that jealous about her job anymore though :-).

Many thanks to the author, Jane Lythell, for sending me a free copy of her novel. All opinions are unbiased and my own.  

16 thoughts on “Woman of the Hour by Jane Lythell

  1. Great review. I have always been curious about the behind-the-scenes. I don’t know if you watch Mary Jane, but in the show, there is a lot of politics and competition in the back ground of the morning show. I would really be interested in reading this one since media is my area of study but I mostly know the theory part of it:-) I like the fact that so much is going on in the story like the blackmail and drama that you mentioned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know the Mary Jane show, it’s not on tv here… but I guess it’d be something like this novel. Media is very interesting before and after the scenes :-). Maybe you should try to reach out to the author (via Twitter), she might just be looking for more reviews ;-). Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! The books sounds interesting but not likely something I will read…

    I have had those moments at work when there’s a ton of paperwork and everyone’s under pressure and deadlines are looming and then someone has to go and ask a day’s leave in the middle of the whole madness… big problems and small problems, and small problems that aren’t small problems for the person who’s asking… it’s just such a whirlwind! So, I can imagine that this book has tons of great stuff in it… but with my current job- I have plenty of it in reality and would rather not read about it, it sounds too real XD

    Like

  3. I always find it Ironic when books or movies talk about people writing books or starring in movies. Good review by the way, I hate really long overly descriptive reviews that make you want to burn the item they are describing. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like how it dives into a job that… honestly.. most of us has no real clue how it works. I’ve seen a couple movies related to the subject but its nice to see that this story managed to keep it all so intriguing. Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

