My first subscription box

Bookwormbox

You’re definitely never too old to have a new first πŸ™‚ and this is my first subscription box ever.

I’ve seen so many subscription boxes but there were two things that always kept me from ordering one myself.

  1. I know this is going to sound ridiculous but you don’t know which book you are getting. I’d hate to feel disappointed. In my ideal world I’d get a list of 10 books and I could cross the ones I’d like to get and then I’d still be surprised without the chance of disappointment. Anyway, yes I know I’m really weird.
  2. The other reason are the shipping costs. There are no boxes with reasonable shipping costs that I found so far.

Still, getting a subscription box is something that was on my bucket list and there’s one that I’ve had my eyes on from the first month they started out and that’s The Bookworm Box. There are several things I really like about this box:

  1. It is founded by one of my fav authors of romance: Colleen Hoover. That’s right, THE Colleen Hoover.
  2. The Bookworm Box was built on the foundation of spreading the good, so 100% of the profit after overhead costs will be donated to different charities each month.
  3. The books are siiiiigned.
  4. The books always look so good and they are always ones that I love to read.

So I decided to treat myself for my birthday (doesn’t matter that it’s only in 3 months time) because I heard that there were two books in it this month. The shipping costs as much as the box but if you know that a book here costs 20 euro and you have two books already in them, well it’s still a bit crazy but not as crazy as I thought initially (I can pretty much rationalize anything if it’s to do with books).

So here it is, the box I’m really really happy to have:

DSC00045

When you open it the first thing you see is a note with what’s in the box (I didn’t read it because I wanted to find out for myself) and the mention that in April, there was over 40.000 USD donated to charities. Isn’t this amazing that you’re actually doing something good and you get a book out of it. Feeling less guilty about my little spat already!

DSC00046

So the swag of the box is a little post-it notebook of The Bookworm Box and a waterproof pouch where you can store your phone or keys in.

Then I discovered some cool bookmarks and cards:

DSC00050

This next little card is one I see myself using quite often. I really like it πŸ™‚

DSC00052

Getting to the best piece now.. the SIGNED books:

Number ONE

DSC00056

DSC00057

180 Seconds by Jessica Park

Some people live their entire lives without changing their perspective. For Allison Dennis, all it takes is 180 seconds…

After a life spent bouncing from one foster home to the next, Allison is determined to keep others at arm’s length. Adopted at sixteen, she knows better than to believe in the permanence of anything. But as she begins her third year in college, she finds it increasingly difficult to disappear into the white noise pouring from her earbuds.

One unsuspecting afternoon, Allison is roped into a social experiment just off campus. Suddenly, she finds herself in front of a crowd, forced to interact with a complete stranger for 180 seconds. Neither she, nor Esben Baylor, the dreamy social media star seated opposite her, is prepared for the outcome.

When time is called, the intensity of the experience overwhelms Allison and Esben in a way that unnerves and electrifies them both. With a push from her oldest friend, Allison embarks on a journey to find out if what she and Esben shared is the real thingβ€”and if she can finally trust in herself, in others, and in love.

And number TWO

DSC00065

Exposure by Tracy Ewens

I’m really excited to read these and I can’t believe I was scared to be disappointed because they’re all I could wish for. They get great ratings, I love the covers, really it’s all a big win!

To close it all off, the last swag in the box was a really nice Bookworm pen. I kind of love this swag most of all – they are useful and always carry fond memories – and I’m really proud of my collection of 3 bookish pens now (my Love You To Death pen from Caroline Mitchell, the ones from Hideaway Falls, and this one) :-).

DSC00087

And here’s everything together:

DSC00063

 

So that’s it! I’m really happy with what I received and I might do it again every birthday. Sounds like a plan right :-). At least something to look forward to then! What do you think about this box (provided you enjoy romance)? Would you consider buying it?

51 thoughts on “My first subscription box

  1. I’m the same in that I’d like to get a list and cross off the books I definitely don’t want. πŸ˜„. I’d hate to pay x-amount and not enjoy whatever is sent to me.

    Enjoy your goodies and very, very, VERY, early happy birthday! πŸ˜‚

    Like

  2. How lovely! I have seen subscription boxes but have never gone for them as like you I worry about being disappointed in the books they send. I love all the other bits and bobs though especially as I’m a bit of a stationery nut! Love the fact that the proceeds of this subscription go to charity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been getting these boxes and love the book swag, and appreciate that a good portion goes go to charity. The books are signed and some of the swag is as well. The only downfall is that I have received a book that I had gotten before. Enjoy and Happy Reading!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You have? Lucky you! I’d be a little disappointed perhaps if I got a book that I already had but the chances for me are pretty slim, these books are not in the stores here and I also only shop for fysical books once a year because they are too expensive here :-). I’m even keeping the box in my library now, I’m so happy with it :-).

      Like

  4. Brilliant! I’m so glad that your subs box was satisfying! I have been thinking and thinking and thinking of trying out one of the boxes as well just to do it once and I tick a box (haha).. maybe I just have to go for it as well, because I know there are some great sub boxes out there worth giving a go.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. most of the subscription services I’ve seen are for longer periods and so they are pretty expensive, especially since you dont know if the choices will be to your taste. I like the added items they included for you; makes it feel a bit more special when you keep discovering something new

    Liked by 2 people

    • This one’s also for a longer period but you can change your profile and stop delivery after placing your first order, they are very understanding that way :-). I like the items too but I’m doing it for the books really, to be surprised and find a new author and book πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What you said “I know this is going to sound ridiculous but you don’t know which book you are getting. I’d hate to feel disappointed. In my ideal world I’d get a list of 10 books and I could cross the ones I’d like to get and then I’d still be surprised without the chance of disappointment. Anyway, yes I know I’m really weird.” This is so me!!! I would love to have a way of checking off books/authors I’m not interested in. It’s such a waste of money otherwise.;-( 180 seconds has fabulous reviews and I love the cover a lot ❀️❀️❀️

    Like

  7. Same! I like the idea of subscription boxes, but I’m also wary of paying for a surprise book (and products) I may not not like. This box looks super fun though!

    Like

  8. I agree with you that the cost and not knowing which book you’ll get are the biggest reasons for not ordering a box. I’m very selective with what books I’ll actually spend money on, so to not know and possibly hate the book would be really disappointing. I’m glad you were happy with your purchase!

    Like

  9. I didn’t know Colleen Hoover had created a subscription box! So cool πŸ™‚ And a charitable one, no less. You go, girl!
    I’m glad you liked this and hope your next one exceeds your expectations even more ^^
    I love romance, so would probably get it too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the pen!!! I have a thing for pens xD I like that the money is donated to charities, it makes me want to try it… When my budget allows it! I’m happy you love all the things you got and especially the books! I share your fear about receiving a book you don’t want or that doesn’t appeal to you much!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love, love, love that proceeds go to charities! That alone is a valid reason for subbing! I am also not a fan of surprise books all of the time πŸ˜‰ I find book boxes to be pricey and also do not fair well with disappointment. It looks like this was a when. Do they have themes and genres to choose from or is it all romance?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ve always been put off by these boxes because I have so many books and if I received a book(s) I already had or had no interest in I would be really disappointed. I love the stationery items though and the proceeds going to charities is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m glad you enjoyed the box!:-) Treating yourself every birthday sounds good! I’m not a romance reader, so this box would not be for me. There are so many box subscriptions out there, it’s just so expense for international peeps. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, if you’re in the UK or US there is at least plenty of choice but if you’re anywhere else (like me in Belgium) the choices are limited and the costs for shipping are really high. I’ve been looking for a crime box too but haven’t found the right one yet ;-). Thank you Jessica!

      Like

  14. Happy early birthday! 🎈

    Looks like a really cool box and I’m glad you liked the books and the swag. It’s something I’ve considered too. But honestly for the same reasons you gave is why I’ve held off. But I think I will try it at some point. I’m so glad it worked out. Excellent post
    Happy reading! πŸ¦‹

    Like

    • Thanks Dee. I’ve never gotten birthday wishes this early lol. I know, it’s a bit of a gamble but I don’t know, I had a good feeling about it and wanted to get a box too. It’s also a reason why I don’t do surprise book swaps with other bloggers because you don’t know what you’ll get (although they can look at your goodreads list so that is a good indication) but what if you send the wrong book to them… I wouldn’t want that either. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. So happy to see how much you enjoyed your first box!!! And to be honest, I share both concerns you initially had. I’d be pretty sad if nothing in the box I receive could bring a smile to my face. πŸ˜› I like the whole charity and foundation brought to life an author thing! I’ve never heard about this box, but I’m still pretty glad to see that you received a bunch of goodies totally made to make any bookworm squirm in happiness! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

