Deceived by Heena Rathore

Deceived def

What’s it about?

How well do you know your loved ones?

A girl struggling to cope with the murders of her mother and five-year-old brother.
A journalist chasing the ghost of a potential serial killer.
A thirteen-year-old girl who slaughtered her parents.
And a revenge-driven psychopath who is about to destroy everyone’s life.

After 9 years, a young writer is still coping with the brutal murders of her mother and five-year-old brother, as she moves into a house of horrors, unwittingly to start a new life with her lover. Will friends and family be able to redeem Ally out of the impending doom in time? Will her infallible love become the key to the destruction of her already fragile world? Will madness prevail over love; true love over revenge?

Deceived is a gripping psychological thriller that mazes through the deepest, darkest emotions of human mind through the story of a vulnerable girl who treads in the mist of deception bred from a long unforgiven betrayal.

Review

3-half-star-def

First of all, I was completely sold when I saw the cover of this novel. It’s such a strong image, I knew this would have to be an interesting story and I wasn’t wrong in my assumption.

The prologue of Deceived contains a very interesting insight that makes it possible to make a distinction between a psychopath and a sociopath. It ends with the instruction to look out for the listed traits for one or the other throughout the novel and I was keen to make my own discoveries of these personality disorders… I didn’t need to be told twice to dig into the story.

The story has a brilliant opener with an old newspaper article reporting a 13 year old girl’s disappearance after she seemingly has killed her parents. The girl, Elisabeth, is one of the voices in this novel and she will make an appearance now and again between chapters of the present. I was clueless how she fit in to the present story but I was quite hooked on her storyline and paradoxically, even though she’s a bad character, I was still concerned for her well-being.

In the present day we follow Allison Stone, a girl whose mother and baby brother were murdered 9 years prior. She lives with her best friend Sam and Max, her dog. There’s so much interaction with her dog that at times he felt like a real person to me. He stole my heart easily, as well as her best friend Sam. It’s great to have such a good friend who you can call no matter what. Sam would drop everything and come running to the rescue. I never really did warm up to her boyfriend Danny, however, even though she’s so in love with him that she goes to live with him. As soon as she moves in, things are starting to get really weird and it looks like her family’s tormentor is back and she’s next on his list. It doesn’t help that her cousin Steve has moved back as well and he’s got his investigating hat on. Will that keep the killer in check? I wouldn’t place any bets :-).

I found the story interesting and there was a lot of creepiness and unease, especially when I read the diary entries from one very disturbed individual, as well as the onslaught of unsettling events happening to Allison in an attempt to destabilize her. It gets worse even, there’s quite a bit of violence in the final act that made me cringe. Unfortunately I did figure out who was behind it all quite early on and I didn’t even have to put much effort into it. I would have liked it to have been a bit more inconspicious and to have seen a few real herrings planted perhaps. What I really couldn’t see though was what Elizabeth’s connection to the story was, if any. I was amazed how this plotline morphed into the present one in the end.

Overall, it wasn’t as spectacular as I expected but it was a good, enjoyable read nonetheless and a great debut. It reminds me a lot about another novel written by a bestselling author, which has been getting a lot of praise and they both have a few similar elements, only this one is for the readers who can take it just a little harder.

I received a free copy of this novel from Citrus Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion.

14 thoughts on “Deceived by Heena Rathore

  1. Okay, what a powerful blurb!! Coupled with the cover, I can see why you picked it!! The prologue holds a wonderful idea! We often assume we know enough to make the difference, so having it all explained and clear in mind before diving into the story must add to the eagerness to put this knowledge at work! Too bad it was a bit too predictable but it does sound so creepy! Wonderful review!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Meggy! Maybe it isn’t as predictable for everybody.. but then it did have some animal cruelty too (it was really quite violent in the last part) so it had a lot of potential to be a 4 or 4.5 star read but there were just too many little things that nagged at me to justify it.

      Like

  2. I have to agree with you about the cover. It works. This sounds like it has some wonderful character development and still offered plenty to be appreciated. I admit that my heart with in my throat with that blurb. Losing your mom and brother like that! It might be a hard read, but sounds like I could enjoy it. I loved the review Inge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like that the author makes a clear distinction between psychopaths and sociopaths, two things that a lot of people just use like synonyms nowadays. The cover definitely raises so many questions, but the blurb and your review are definitely what makes this book so much more appealing. Fantastic review, Inge! 😀

    Like

  4. Mmm.. I also have to agree on the cover… it’s hard hitting!
    Wonderful review to what sounds like a pretty thought out book… Was the fact you read about the differences in between and socio- and a psychopath great help when reading the book? Did it create more of a thought process around the characters?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes it did, I really liked this assignment :-), although it wasn’t very difficult if you know what to look for. I had a little bit of a problem with motive though and the predictability but otherwise I would have given a higher rating because she knows how to write and I think her second novel will be even better.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, good to know the assignment was of use! 🙂 I bet it added a bit of excitement to reading the book 🙂
        Hmm… the motive and predictability can be an issue but when the writing is brilliant AND when one’s able to just take the plot at face value, then I;m sure it’s a solid read. I hope the second book will blow your socks off 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent review! The cover and blurb definitely manages to draw you in straight away and it’s good to hear it’s still an enjoyable read even though it’s not mindblowingly good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

