They All Fall Down by Tammy Cohen #BookReview

Blank bookcover with clipping path

What’s it about?

She knows there’s a killer on the loose.
But no-one believes her.
Will she be next?

Hannah had a normal life – a loving husband, a good job. Until she did something shocking.

Now she’s in a psychiatric clinic. It should be a safe place. But patients keep dying.

The doctors say it’s suicide. Hannah knows they’re lying.

Can she make anyone believe her before the killer strikes again?

amazon uk amazon com

Review

star three and a half

Hannah is staying in a private pschychatric clinic and it seems it wasn’t entirely out of her own volition. The reason for her stay is carefully dodged but I’m great at making lists of possibilities in my head and cross-referencing them with details I find so I thought I had her backstory figured out quite soon. I was pleasantly surprised my nose was pointed in the right direction and that I didn’t have to wait for the reveal of her reasons to stay until the end of the novel, which was what I kind of expected. It was a pretty little bomb dropped at the exact moment that you’ve got that feeling that you really just have to know now ‘what exactly is going on’ and I can only say that it’s very much in line with what I was expecting from Ms. Cohen. If you’ve read other books by this author, you know that there’s no limit to what she can write and in my books she’s known for her great plot twists and plotlines that are running very deep and are intricately crafted. A great start of this novel because Hannah suddenly becomes a very unreliable narrator, there’s no denying that you’ll have her backstory in your mind all the way through now. I’m still impressed with how cleverly she made Hannah to be doubted now at all times. A woman who did ‘that’ is surely not to be trusted?

Hannah’s convinced two of the patients there – one of them happened to be one of her best friends – didn’t kill themself.

“I’m frightened. I’m frightened that I’m right and I’ll be next. I’m even more frightened that I’m wrong, in which case I’m as crazy as they all think I am.”

Then her mother finds a picture of a woman on her daughter’s nightstand with the eyes pierced out. Who is she and why so much hatred? She starts investigating on her own and soon enough you can’t stop but wonder if the threat is actually coming from in- or outside the clinic.

People are lying and not everybody is who he or she claims they are and it’s up to Hannah and her mother to dig around and make people talk. Lots of deceit and lies to go round but are any of these people responsible for killing someone? I knew the who early on and the author didn’t really disguise it all that much, it’s not like it all really came out of the blue, so what really intrigued me the most was finding out why? What was the motive? And is Hannah in real danger?

As I was racing towards the end, I got really on edge how this was going to go down… I felt fearful but also relished that sense of danger lurking in the shadows. Ms. Cohen held out a long time and made me wait for it, keeping me on tenterhooks for the grand finale!

Maybe this isn’t my favorite novel by her, I still think When She Was Bad or Dying for Christmas proved to be just that little more exciting and sinister but it was still a good read with a couple of nice twists!

I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

23 thoughts on “They All Fall Down by Tammy Cohen #BookReview

    • I want to be surprised in the end and it does have an influence on my rating, no matter how wonderful it was written.. so I would have rated it higher had I not known… Thanks for the tag but I already did this one (and I’m so behind on tags you don’t want to know), it’s lovely that you thought of me though. Thank you Kathy!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Psychiatric settings on their own are already quite creepy and full of ‘possibilities’. The idea of the book definitely sounds good and I’m glad you were able to still enjoy the novel even though you had most of it pretty much figured out, you smarty pants! 🙂

    Like

    • It is a great setting but this wasn’t a cuckoo place, more people with anorexia and stuff so it was all still pretty normal, no weirdos to suspect… I find it really really weird that I’m the only one who knew which character was to be suspected.. it wasn’t hard at all this time!

      Like

  2. Great review, Inge! I love the setting for this one and how much faith you have in the author! It sounds like this ended up being quite a decent book too. By the way, is it just me or psychological thrillers seem to.. always have female lead characters?? I only just realized this and never wondered why. 😮 Do you know what’s up?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is a great observation.. and you’re making me think so too, there really are plenty of female lead characters. Is it because they are maybe more emotional than men and better to write about? Or are they female authors who find it easier to create female lead characters? I wish I knew the answer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

