Brothers and Sisters by Adele O’Neill #BlogTour #Guestpost

Brothers and sisters def

About the book

Nothing remains buried forever… What would you do to protect the ones you love?

A gripping, highly emotive story of love, survival, dark family secrets and sibling loyalty. Perfect for the fans of Kathryn Hughes and Dorothy Koomson.

When human remains are found on Fitzpatrick Estate, Detective Kelly is drawn deep into the complex web of Fitzpatrick family secrets as Timothy and his sister Rose, now in their sixties, are catapulted into the centre of the investigation.

When the pathology report identifies the remains as that of their uncle, Patrick Fitzpatrick, missing from Fitzpatrick Estate since 1970, they scramble to protect their past.

What would you do to protect the ones you love?

Buy links

Amazon | iBooks | Google Play

About Adele O’Neill

thumbnail_AdeleO'Neill[1]

Having lived and worked in the UK and Dublin since college, Adele now lives in her hometown of Arklow, Co. Wicklow on the east coast of Ireland, with her husband and two teenage daughters. She writes overlooking the Irish Sea and is an active member of the Wexford Literary Festival committee.

Follow Adele

Facebook | Twitter

Guestpost

When your Characters have a mind of their own

When I first began to write Brothers and Sisters and the dark tale of sibling loyalty and the lengths we would go to, to protect the ones we love, I had a plan. A well-researched plan that brought me from the depths of Kilkenny checking the acidity of the soil to the corporate offices of London and Dublin, and plenty of other places in between. My characters were imagined and created with detail and purpose, the perfect narrators of a story that spanned five decades. My plot was riddled with impossible choices that resulted in devastating outcomes. All the makings of an un-put-down-able story, what can be the problem with that, I hear you say?

My characters decided how the story was going to end, that’s the problem. The devastating outcome that I spoke about and the perfectly planned and meticulously plotted ending that I had imagined wasn’t happening all because my characters had a say.

Liken it if you will to the development of your child. The parent being the author and the character being the child.  You plan and fantasise about how wonderful they will be, you anticipate their arrival with excited musings of their future. You nurture and nourish them, investing your time and energy giving them every chance to become fully formed contributing individuals and then one day, everything you have hoped for them, everything you have wished for them happens, they become independent, will-full thinkers, the architects of their own destiny. My characters grew and developed a mind of their own, they had a plan for how this story was to unfold and who was I to tell them otherwise.

Normally, the writing process for me is planned, organised and researched. Before I place a finger on the keyboard, I like to know who I’m working with. What my character’s motivations are, what they like and don’t like and where their limits lie just so I can push them a little past it. I like to know where the characters are coming from and where they’re going to end up so when Rose and her brother Tim had other ideas for the devastating outcome and who was going to be on the receiving end of it, I was as surprised as I hope all the readers of Brothers and Sisters will be. I shouldn’t complain though, it was their loyalty to each other, the loyalty and bond that I imagined for them that put us on this detour.

If I had one piece of advice to other writers it is this; listen to what your characters have to say, you may be as surprised as you want your reader to be!

Follow Aria

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Take a look at the other tour stops too! Tomorrow: Love Books Group

thumbnail_Brothers&Sisters-blogtourbanner[1]

13 thoughts on “Brothers and Sisters by Adele O’Neill #BlogTour #Guestpost

  1. Love this guest post! 🙂 It’s always interesting to see how authors approach their work and in this case definitely great to read that it was the characters that led the story and ending!
    Hail to Co Wicklow- lovely area! Managed to visit it myself last December finally, although for a business meeting! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such an original guest post! I definitely love the sound of characters coming to life and deciding their own faith with the author having no control over them. The comparison is also nicely accurate! Gosh, shows that this author loves to write. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

