Zodiac by Sam Wilson #BookReview

Zodiac def

What’s it about?

In a society divided along Zodiac lines, status is cast at birth – and binding for life.

When seemingly random murders plague the city, is it a rebellion against the system or the work of a twisted serial killer? Zodiac is an imaginative and gripping thriller from debut author Sam Wilson.

Even for the most experienced detectives, every once in a while a murder can shake them to the core. Like when the Chief of Police is killed in his own home.

For Detective Jerome Burton, catching the killer will change his life forever.

Because this murder is only the first piece of a vast and twisted puzzle made of secrets, lies and tragedy.

The signs are everywhere. But is the truth written in the stars or hiding in the shadows?

amazon ukΒ amazon com

Review

star three and a half

I really wanted to read this novel when I saw the stunning cover with that caption line. Those who know me won’t be surprised though if I tell that I really never read dystopian books. The first and last one I read was years ago and didn’t really appeal to me in the end. So it might be even more suprising if I say that I actually enjoyed Zodiac.

A lot of it of course is the merit of this really interesting concept of a society based on different signs and the idea that you can’t treat people of different signs the same way because people of different signs behave differently. Sounds plausible right ;-)? Right, until of course there’s a whole hierarchy based upon this principle and some signs are regarded more highly than others. This novel focuses mainly on 2, 3 signs: being a Capricorn or a Taurus brings you a good status, but the lowest sign of all is Aries. They are prone to violence, they live in bad neighbourhoods, they are the most unemployed and the biggest population in prison are Aries too. But then of course they get caught most because – according to some – they are sought out, a stop and search for them is the new norm. One of them who raises his voice against the oppression of his sign is Solomon Mahout, leader of Aries Rising. On the other side there’s also the RAM Squad, a special unit set up to control the Aries population.

I read it all with a lot of interest and really didn’t think I could get lost in this world as much as I did. There is an overview about each sign before the novel kicks-off. I was apprehensive about what I would find further on in the novel because the mention of a sci-fi and fantasy culture didn’t seem like it was talking about me as a Virgo. In the novel itself I did find one reference to my own sign that sounds more like it though ;-):

Virgos […] were smart and interesting and independent, but they were often so socially blunt that talking to them was like boxing.

Anyway, onto the story itself. The first murder victim they find was working at the police force in one of the highest ranks.Β Detective Jerome Burton is assigned to the investigation and gets help from astrologer Lindi Childs. She’s going to see if the murderer’s profile fits based on his birth charts. Riiiight. Queue my sigh ;-). Thankfully the weight of this approach wasn’t hanging over the novel at all :-). Burton has his own personal struggles too, about his sign and about the sign his unborn child will be born into. Children will be born sooner to get the right sign but that might have consequences for its health too of course. Of course there’s also fraud with birth certificates and there’s even a school, The True Signs Academy, for children who have to learn the necessary code of behaviour to fit into their sign then. There was obviously put a lot of thought in all of this and it’s strange but I was completely loving this!

At the same time there’s a guy (capricorn) Daniel who stumbled upon a secret his father kept from him and is following his own investigation with the help of some Aries kid he ran into. Until suddenly someone Burton interviews leads them to the same place. The thing that confused me a little were these two plotlines and it took me quite a while to realise that they don’t start out at the same time.. the plotline with Daniel starts much earlier than the other one but that wasn’t made clear, it’s actually years ago in the past and it’s only towards the ending that they are both coming together gloriously in the present.

The last part of the novel held threats, danger and quite a bit of battle and action. Unfortunately, I still didn’t grasp all that well what the murders were about in the end and I found that the motive for the murders wasn’t explained thoroughly enough. Personally, I found the world-building and everything in it a little more interesting than some people’s fantastical ideas but then it might be just me, so don’t let that put you off.

I received a free copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

19 thoughts on “Zodiac by Sam Wilson #BookReview

  1. I struggled with this one too, Inge! It’s like we’re book twins or something πŸ˜‚. Everyone else has loved it, so reading your review has made me feel a little better. Would be a funny old world if we all liked the same things though x

    Like

    • Ha that’s reassuring for me as well. Maybe sci-fi and fantasy lovers would like this one more than crime readers? I don’t know but the crime part wasn’t developed as much as I wanted it to. I don’t regret reading it but I’m going to stick with pure crime again for a while :-).

      Like

  2. I thought this would be a normal crime thriller perhaps based on the Zodiac Killer who operated in the 1960s. I didn’t know that it is Sci-Fi. I do like the world-building as you described and the concept of how the stars determine the lives of the individuals. Sad about the ending and the motive though. Great review!

    Like

  3. Nice review, Inge. This story does have some interesting ideas, but I have to say it’s a bit..ehhh… to only focus on a couple signs, but then again.. It would probably be a huge mess if every single sign was equally integrated. Initially, I thought this book would be some sort of retelling of the infamous Zodiac killer by the way hahahah πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

