Little Gray Dress by Aimee Brown #BlogTour #GuestPost #Giveaway

Little Gray Dress def

Title: Little Gray Dress
Author: Aimee Brown
Release Date: August 2nd, 2017
Publisher: Crooked Cat Books
Genre: Romantic Comedy/Chick Lit
GoodReads: add Little Gray Dress to your to be read list

Book Blurb

Emi Harrison has avoided her ex-fiance, Jack Cabot, for nearly two years. Her twin brother Evan’s wedding is about to end that streak.

From bad bridesmaid’s dresses, a hyperactive sister-in-law, a mean girl with even meaner secrets, and too much to drink, nothing seems to go right for Emi, except when she’s wearing her little gray dress.

When she speed-walks into Liam Jaxon’s bar, things get more complicated. He’s gorgeous, southern, and has no past with Emi. He may be exactly what she needs to prove for the last time that she doesn’t need or want Jack!

Her favorite little gray dress has made an appearance at nearly every major event in Emi’s adult life. Will it make another when she least expects it?

AmazonUS: eBook – $2.99 | print – $9.99

AmazonUK: eBook – £1.99| print – £6.99

Barnes & Noble: print – $9.99

I have the cutest Giveaway for the tour – pictured here <– & opened worldwide.

Included is a ‘create’ coffee cup, some dark & handsome K-cup pods, a cute Life is Short, Eat Cake wall art, some tiny macaroons, a Little Gray Dress bookmark & postcard!

Enter here:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Aimee Brown is a writer and an avid reader. Little Gray Dress is her first published novel. My second novel is in the works now. She’s currently studying for her Bachelor’s degree in English Writing. She spends much of her time writing, doing homework, raising three teenagers, binge watching shows on Netflix and obsessively cleaning and redecorating her house. She’s fluent in sarcasm and has been known to utter profanities like she’s competing for a medal.

Aimee grew up in Oregon but is now a transplant living in cold Montana with her husband of twenty years, three teenage children, and far too many pets.

She would love to hear your thoughts on Little Gray Dress! If you’d like to chat with her she’s very active on social media. You can find her at any of the networks below. Stop by and say hello!

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Website/Blog | GoodReads | Amazon Page | Newsletter

Guestpost

Writers Block is my Arch Enemy

I’ve never experienced something more terrifying than a blank page. Once I get to about 20k words things go easier for me than when I’m staring at a blank page. It’s not even necessarily writer’s block completely, but more the fear or the wrong opening.

So many times I’ve read about how important your first sentence, first page, and first chapter are in a book. That’s your hook. If you can’t hook a reader in the first few pages, they may not continue. It’s stressful!

When I open a book to a bunch of back story or ‘setting’ info, it loses me immediately. Or a prologue! Those are the worst. Holy hell, just make it a chapter if it’s so important.

If I open to a conversation, I immediately feel as if I’m in the middle of the story right from the first sentence. That’s my intent as a writer. To always start so you immediately feel immersed in whatever is going on. It’s not always that easy though.

Sometimes I can start a story and feel like right from the first line that it’s the right opening. Considering I’ve only got one book out though, clearly I delete more than I keep. Getting past the first few chapters is at times, a challenge for me. Investing myself in a story I’m not completely happy with the opening, is unheard of for me. If I’m not happy with the first chapter, I absolutely can not move on. It’s my set up. That’s the moment I have to make sure you as a reader choose to continue reading what I’ve written.

It’s a lot of pressure and sometimes that pressure can result in me staring at a blank screen for hours on end. Or worse yet, filling the screen with words and then ultimately deleting them because I’ve decided I hate them.

For some authors, I’m sure it’s easier to commit and keep whatever they write. Writer’s block or some form of it has maybe never made an appearance in their life. I’m jealous. It seems to be my arch enemy or rather, maybe my kryptonite. Sometimes, I feel crippled by it. Sometimes, writer’s block manages to convince me that I’m the worst writer in the world. Other times, I hit back, tell it off and stomp on it on the way to my destination. That’s rarer than me giving up and walking away hoping to start again ‘tomorrow’.

Writer’s block has claimed ten years of my tomorrows and now that I’ve tackled it, I’m determined to not let it steal any more days from me. Commitment and determination are the two hardest traits for me to overcome. I constantly change my mind. I daren’t read Little Gray Dress now that it’s out or I’ll wonder how I ever got published. I can’t be the only one like this? Surely more writers than just myself struggle with a blank page?

My only advice for writer’s block is this… don’t think about it, just write. No one needs to see your first draft. You can include anything and fix it later. It’s easier to edit a disaster of a first draft, but not as easy to edit a blank page. If you’re anything like me though, don’t reread what you’ve written until you are completely finished, just continue on and fix things later. Farewell writer’s block, I’m going to X you out.

Check out the other blog stops too! Tomorrow:

Book Lover in Florida with an excerpt!

Weds – August 2nd

Blog on the Run – Book Review/Author Guest Post after 2nd
Books and Photographs – Book Review
Judging More Than Just the Cover – Book Review/Author Interview
Nicole Evelina – Book Review/Guest Post
The Novel Girl Reads – Book Review/Excerpt/Author Q&A

Thurs – August 3rd

Chick Lit Central – Author Interview
NovelGossip – Book Review
Hey Said Renee – Author Guest Post
Romantic Reads and Such – Book Excerpt
Steamy Book Mama – Book Review

Fri – August 4th

BrizzleLass Books – Book Review
O.D. Book Reviews – Book Excerpt
He Said Books or Me – Author Guest Post
Corinne Desjardins – Book Spotlight
Where Dragons Recide – Book Review/Author Q&A

Sat – August 5th

JenaBooks – Book Review
Sylv.net – Spotlight Post
Got Books, Babe? – Author Guest Post
The Writing Garnet – Book Review

Sun – August 6th

I Read Novels – Book Review
It’s my Life – Book Excerpt
RaeReads – Book Review
Keelee Morris – Author Guest Post
GrassMonster – Book Review

Mon – August 7th

Living Life with Joy – Book Review/Giveaway/Author Q&A
The Belgian Reviewer – Author Guest Post
Book Lover in Florida – Book Excerpt
Haddie’s Heaven – Spotlight Post
Books in my Opinion – Book Review
Literature Goals – Book Review/Excerpt/Author Q&A

Tue – August 8th

Reading to Unwind – Book Review
Kristin’s Novel Café – Book Excerpt & Giveaway/Book Review
Key of Dee – Author Guest Post
FrankyBrown – Book Excerpt
Smokin’ Hot Reads Book Blog – Book Reviews (3)

Weds – August 9th

Ink, Maps and Macarons – Giveaway/Author Q&A
Heartalefix – Book Review
Tea Party Princess – Author Guest Post/(possible) Review
One Book at a Time – Book Excerpt/Spotlight/Book Review

Thurs – August 10th

ItaPixie’s Book Corner – Book Review/Excerpt
Rosa Temple Writes – Author Guest Post
Life at 17 – Spotlight Post
Daily Waffle – Book Excerpt/Author Q&A

Fri – August 11th

Pretty Little Book Reviews – Book Review
Sparkly Word – Book Review
Books and Readers – Book Review/Excerpt/Giveaway/Guest Post
Ali the Dragon Slayer – Book Review
Katie Lady Reads – Book Review
Rambling Lisa’s Book Reviews – Book Review/Book Excerpt

Sat – August 12th

Life of a Simple Reader – Book Review/Excerpt
Karlita – Goodreads/Social Media – Book Review
KD Reads – Book Review/Giveaway/Guest Post
D.K. Hamilton – Book Review/Author Q&A
20CC Reviews – Book Review
TrashyBibloBlog – Book Review/Excerpt

LGD tour hosts banner

11 thoughts on “Little Gray Dress by Aimee Brown #BlogTour #GuestPost #Giveaway

  1. Interesting guest post… the part about a prologue got me thinking… I normally don’t mind them, they can be quite action packed and good scene setters, but I think sometimes the word ‘prologue’ itself is offputting? As readers, we want to get straight to the story and have it unravel before our eyes, but actually knowing there’s a chapter worth of background build up feels like a delay… Just a crazy thought- if all the prologues were actually titled as chapters, would there be less of dislike towards prologues? 😀

    Like

    • I don’t know that’s really interesting… I don’t mind prologues though, I like how they lead me gently into the story, and sometimes they are great teasers too. I especially like the ones that are a contrast to the rest of the story and then at the end of the story you go back to that prologue and it finally all makes sense 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

