WWW Wednesday (07-11-2018)

WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today, after a two-month www-hiatus.

The three W’s are:
What did you recently finish reading?
What are you currently reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Line

What I finished reading:

I read and reviewed My Sister’s Bones in November 2016 and if you click on the link you’ll see that I loved it. I also told we’d be hearing from the author again et voilà, here we are with Ellwood’s second novel. It’s different from her debut but she is indeed talented and her debut was no one hit wonder. Day of the Accident has a great plotline, making you wonder continually if her daughter is alive or dead. I really enjoyed her new novel.

Day of the Accident by Nuala Ellwood

Day of the Accident def 

Line

What I’m reading now:

You just have to say it’s a book for fans of Agatha Christie and I’m in. The author actually wrote several episodes of Poirot so there’s no way this novel can be disappointing, can it? I have no idea who killed divorce lawyer Richard Pryce (what’s in a name) so far so I’m still very entertained. It’s kind of a special novel too when you think about it: the author plays himself in the novel. It’s ridiculously funny really.. in the novel he – Anthony (or Tony) – is following a PI who’s supposed to be smarter than he is, and he doesn’t really have a clue, he only hopes to solve it before the other one does.. but he’s the author so he knows who did it from the very beginning :-)!

The Sentence is Death by Anthony Horowitz

TheSentenceIsDeath def

Line

What I’ll (probably) read soon:

I read The Fear earlier this year, it was my first read by C.L. Taylor and I loved how twisted it was so when I saw her new novel Sleep I wanted to read it right away. I was first declined on Netgalley but I was on the blog tour for The Fear so I picked up all my courage and contacted the publisher and it seemed they declined me by mistake ;-). That’s how I got my hands on this beauty after all. I have high expectations now though, that’s always a bit dangerous.

Sleep by C.L. Taylor 

Blank bookcover with clipping path

All Anna wants is to be able to sleep. But crushing insomnia, terrifying night terrors and memories of that terrible night are making it impossible. If only she didn’t feel so guilty…

To escape her past, Anna takes a job at a hotel on the remote Scottish island of Rum, but when seven guests join her, what started as a retreat from the world turns into a deadly nightmare.

Each of the guests have a secret, but one of them is lying – about who they are and why they’re on the island. There’s a murderer staying in the Bay View hotel. And they’ve set their sights on Anna.

Seven strangers. Seven secrets. One deadly lie.

Line

So that’s it, what are you reading this week? Share your link in the comments below so that I can come and take a look !

Advertisements

37 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (07-11-2018)

      • I’m reading 5-6 books at the same time, so next read is a few 🙂 Very much enjoying Soul Of The Border now, it’s a literary fiction book, translated from Italian. I liked Sentence Is Death, it’s on my blog today. I definitely liked the case more, and the conclusion. But, the pace was a little slower than the first.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m super on the fence about Anthony Horowitz… It’s one of those I want to like, but I’m not sure I do actually like his books… I’m in a bit of a reading slump at the moment, I’m trying to finish a non-fiction book about the Celts though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Day of the Accident sounds so good. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Sleep is also on my TBR. I haven’t read any books by Taylor in quite a while but couldn’t resist getting this one. I hope that we will both enjoy it. Happy reading Inge and have a fab week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Horowitz’ books are on my radar, I will definitely be checking some of his books out when the right mood strikes me. 😊

    I’m currently on fantasy roll he he, loving Tamora Pierre’s Wild Magic. 😊❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ‘Sleep’ sounds like a great read! I think thrillers set on remote islands are all the more scarier and suspenseful because there’s nowhere to escape! It doesn’t bear thinking about being in a situation like that! Also, it never fails to amuse that there’s a Scottish island called Rum 😛 I hope you enjoy it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s