The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides #BookReview

TheSilentPatient def

whats-it-about-2

I love him so totally, completely, sometimes it threatens to overwhelm me.
Sometimes I think-
No. I won’t write about that.

ALICIA
Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet – and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can’t bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

THEO
Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia’s silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?

amazon uk amazon com

review-2

‘Grasping at vanashing snowflakes is like grasping at happiness; an act of possession which instantly gives way to nothing.’

5_Star_Rating_System_4_and_a_half_stars_1457015900_81_246_96_2

If you haven’t heard about this novel by now, I really don’t know where you’ve been hiding. The Silent Patient is promised to become one of this year’s bestsellers and I think they are RIGHT, this novel really has bestseller written all over it!

Alicia Berenson was a very intriguing character because she kept quiet from the start, not saying another word after she’s been caught and arrested for the murder on her husband Gabriel in flagrante delicto. We know the facts, her husband was shot 5 times in the head and he was tied to a chair but what we don’t know is WHY she did it. I wanted to, no needed to know why she did it so badly in the end! The author kept me very much in suspense though and the slow build only added to the story.

The fact that she’s not talking forced me to guess her motive constantly. Her profile just didn’t fit with the murder but I knew she did it. It was very conflicting and I couldn’t flip those pages fast enough to find out more. I also couldn’t understand why she wasn’t talking, the only clue she left was a painting she made. I’m not a big art lover or expert but I was quite fascinated about the meaning behind this painting which name refers to an old Greek tragedy; it made it even more intriguing.

Before there were answers there’ll be a lot more questions and silence though and luckily psychotherapist Theo Faber comes along and is determined he can make her talk after 6 years of silence. In other novels the therapist often remains an authority but in this novel I really got to know Theo, I heard his own thoughts and became familiar with the struggles he’s facing in his personal life as well. I liked him, it was easy to connect with him and it was there from the start. I wished that he would be successful and would be able to get Alicia to talk. As a reader you’re sooooo waiting for that moment to happen!

To help the story along he’s aided by Alicia’s diary entries and this clever literary tool let me hear from Alicia even when she’s keeping quiet. Layer after layer there’s more to be discovered about her life but I was still totally blindsided in the end and I almost had a whiplash inducing shock when all the puzzle pieces fell into place without much of a warning. I was stunned. What the… how the hell did this happen? It all makes sense though when you think about it and I loved the twist. My initial outrage at her was gone, just like that. I understood why she did it, how she was pushed over the edge. It was a brilliant end scene.

If you enjoy psychological thrillers I’d definitely put it on the list like NOW! This is an absolutely amazing debut with an unbelievable stunner of twist! It’s perfect for fans of Jo Spain who read The Confession (also not a who but a why dunnit novel).

I received a free copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

Advertisements

54 thoughts on “The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides #BookReview

    • I actually received the link to the first chapters first. I was so intrigued after reading those and wanted to keep on reading so I knew it was one I had to get my hands on. Luckily they gave lots of copies away at that time. I’m sorry you missed out on this one… if you want to do a book swap you might convince me to part from my copy (although it’ll be quite tough). Maybe buying a new copy is cheaper for you though and you’ll get it sooner too. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • That great that you were able to read the first couple of chapters and then got the book. I kept looking at it on NetGalley but I had 4 other ARCS with a release date of Feb 5th, that I didn’t want to commit myself to another one of that same date. I do wish I’d had this one instead of one of the others that I’d read, but that’s how it goes! I’ve never thought of a book swap! Thanks for offering! I did end up preordering it yesterday with my audible credit, so it will be on my account at midnight tonight! I’ll definitely get it sooner that way and am interested in how it will be as an audiobook-the sample sounded great. You have me curious though how much it would be to send a book from the US to you in a swap (as opposed to buying it)…♥

        Liked by 1 person

      • There are so many amazing debuts this year again and you just can’t request / read them all at once. I sort of forgot you were in the US 😉 and thought you were in the UK 😋 but I’d still gone through with it though if you had really set your heart on it though. You solved it brilliantly already though.. I hope the audiobook is enjoyable (if you want another rec I think Changeling would be awesomely creepy to listen to) and you’ll be surprised in the end as much as I was. Happy listening! xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • There really are and I keep trying to stay off NetGalley, sigh. Haha, I wish I were in the UK since the US has a crazy president and all that. That’s super-sweet of you! I think it will be great on audio or hope so, lol. And at least I can return it if it isn’t and then by the kindle version for the same price as my audible credit, so win-win. I’ll have to check out the Changeling-thx! Thank you! xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

    • Well I don’t know whether I should give it 4 or 5 stars.. 5 for the twist and ending definitely but 4 for the middle part where I didn’t really know where it was going… still I’m really impressed with the debut so I feel he deserves the push and I have high hopes for his next novel 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. How peculiar that I missed your review of The Silent Patient. I finished it quite recently and found it to be very good! I can see that it will be huge soon. The chapters go straight to the point and there’s no over-writing or over-describing in it so it can be easily read in a day! So entertaining! Love your review of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Links I’ve Enjoyed This Week – 10/02/19 – Secret Library Book Blog

  3. This review and Nikola’s have me curious about this title.I just got the book this week and cant wait to get to it soon.It sounds so good and you have me intrigued about the reveal.Fab review,Inge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s