All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

all-the-missing-girls-def

What’s it about?

It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared without trace. Then a letter from her father arrives – ‘I need to talk to you. That girl. I saw that girl.’ Has her father’s dementia worsened, or has he really seen Corinne? Returning home, Nicolette must finally face what happened on that terrible night all those years ago. Then, another young woman goes missing, almost to the day of the anniversary of when Corinne vanished. And like ten years ago, the whole town is a suspect.

Told backwards – Day 15 to Day 1 – Nicolette works to unravel the truth, revealing shocking secrets about her friends, her family, and what really happened to Corinne.

You can buy a copy of this novel on Amazon UK | Amazon US.

Review

5_Star_Rating_System_4_stars_1457015877_81_246_96_2

Ever since Nic’s best friend Corinne went missing 10 years ago, life stood still for her. She left town trying to escape all the talk, all the suspicions, all the sorrow, but she was never really able to move on. Now she’s gone back for the summer she is once more catapulted into the past events because on her first day back at home another girl goes missing and she was asking the police about Corinne’s case.

All the main players of the past are in the picture again: her brother Daniel, Corinne’s boyfriend Jackson, her ex Tyler, their friend Bailey, and in the middle of this was the girl who witnessed their little group from a distance at the fair 10 years ago and was their alibi. So what did she know and who felt threatened?

This book has done me in! It’s just brilliant how it takes you back in time from Day 15 to Day 1 and is able to ramp up the suspense going backwards. It actually shows first, prickling your interest, making you wonder how the scene you are reading about came to happen and then it actually explains in the following chapter from a day further in the past. It’s unheard of and so clever.

Even if Corinne was the one missing in this story, she felt so present and real, I really felt like I knew her in the end. I didn’t like her at all but she was a great character. The suspicion was also pretty much on everyone in this novel.

There were people who knew more than they said, who chose to keep silent. There must be more of us. I had to understand the silence. With Corinne comes Anneleise. With Anneleise comes Corinne. Apply one filter to the next, watch it all slide into focus.

If you are one of those readers who always figures out the ending way in advance, then this is definitely the book for you. You can’t know how this all holds up until you get to the end, I mean beginning.. whatever. And I can tell everyone that the ending is bound to surprise you, as it did to me.

This is a different kind of format all right and one that worked really well. I’ve read many past and present mystery plotlines but never one like this before. When you reach the end of the book, you’ll want to reread it again from the beginning, just to see how it all fits together. I know I did.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.

 

29 thoughts on “All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

  1. Wow, the format of this book certainly does sound unique and quite mindbending as well! Do you think the Day 15 to Day 1 format helps a lot with laying suspicion to everyone thus taking away the risk of predicatbility?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure you could predict the outcome if it was told in a normal linear timeline either.. but it never gets boring this way.. For example she has a key ‘suddenly’ but you have to wait to see where she got it from because she got it a day earlier, it just all sharpens your curiosity.

      Like

  2. I love the idea of the story being told from day 15 – day 1 but I’ve seen so many mixed reviews for this one, I’m unsure. But to experience the format alone, I want to read it, ah I’m so conflicted haha

    Like

  3. This was hands down one of my favorite reads last year so I’m glad you enjoyed it! The format was so original and I was an instant fan of her work after finishing it. Have you read her newest one The Perfect Stranger yet?

    Like

  4. This is by far one of my favorite books to date! Like you, I just could not get over the writing. It was so amazing and I have never read a book that was written told backwards. I loved it, so glad you loved it too!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So this one unravels from present to past? I love that idea. I am also guilty of often figuring out too many details before the end of thrillers and mysteries which is why they often lose appeal with me. Maybe I should add this one though! Love this review ❤

    Like

  6. Pingback: 500 Followers & a Q & A – The Book Raven

  7. I love the originality of the reverse narration! It must have required a lot from the author to make it work! And as I tend to figure out plots, I accept the challenge and will try with this one :p Fantastic review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

