Last to Die

Blank bookcover with clipping path

Rating: 5_Star_Rating_System_4_and_a_half_stars_1457015900_81_246_96_2

What’s it about?

He watches. He waits. He kills …

When Jessie Conway survives a horrific mass high school shooting, in the aftermath she finds herself thrust into the media spotlight, drawing all kinds of attention. But some of it is the wrong kind.

Caleb Switch, a sadistic serial killer has been watching her every move. A skilled hunter, he likes his victims to be a challenge to him. Jessie is strong, fearless, a survivor, and now…she is his ultimate prey.

As Caleb picks off his current victims one by one, chasing, killing and butchering them with his crossbow, he’s closing in on Jessie… But will Jessie defy the odds and escape with her life? Or will she be Caleb’s final sacrifice …

You can purchase a copy of this book on AmazonUS / AmazonUK.

Review

This was truly a heart-stopping story. The first two chapters both describe very different events happening in Jessie and Caleb’s lives. I guarantee that you simply can’t put this novel to rest after reading just these two chapters. I just had to know what would happen next and how these two events would be linked and the characters brought together.

I had a sense of dreaded premonition when it dawned on me that Caleb sees the world in a very specific way. He divides people into a Category A or B. Category B people are the easy people to convince of his intentions and to make them believe what he wants them to. They don’t pose a real challenge, they don’t put up a fight. What gives him a kick are Category A people, though they are much more difficult to find. Jessie is definitely Category A and since she came in the media, he has every intention on making her his next victim.

This novel was chilling. The author was able to describe Caleb’s views so well that it put the fear in me. Caleb was so emotionless and cold. I was right alongside Jessie, urging her, wiling her to survive, to live. She has great character, and someone to admire for being a Category A kind of woman. It’s no secret where this story is going to go and yet, it still makes for a brilliant read, it is fast-paced and nail biting material.

The only thing I want to remark is that I expected maybe a bit more of an exploding ending. The story definitely went crescendo in tension but the ending was not so hard hitting and remarkable as I had hoped.

I can’t believe she already has 6 other books out and I didn’t know. In my opinion she just proved to me she’s a very talented author and I really recommend this book to everyone.

I received a free copy of this book from the publicist through Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

 

2 thoughts on “Last to Die

Leave a Reply

