WWW Wednesday (07-09-2016)

WWW Wednesday is a book list hosted by Taking on a World of Words, and I’m happy to participate today.

untitled

Three W’s:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What I’m Reading:

My intention to read something in another genre will just have to wait another day ;-). I saw so many reviews about this novel, and the blurb was so compelling, I just had to request it. I’m not sure how I feel about it though.

Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington

Saving Sophie: A gripping psychological thriller with a brilliant twist by [Carrington, Sam]A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next?

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another – Sophie.

Line

What I (recently) finished:

I gave My Girl a 5* rating so of course I wanted to read Jack Jordan’s first novel too. He’s a brilliant author and we’ll be hearing from him in the future, you mark my words. He manages to surprise me time and time again.

Anything For Her by Jack Jordan

Anything for Her by [Jordan, Jack]

Sometimes the past comes back to haunt you.

Louise Leighton’s life has fallen apart, all because of one fateful night. Her husband is an adulterer, her sister is his mistress, and soon, Louise will lose everything she owns. But she never imagined she would lose her daughter.

Eighteen-year-old Brooke Leighton is missing. It’s up to Louise and the Metropolitan Police to find her. Has Brooke run away? Or has she been taken against her will? And can Louise aid the investigation without mentioning the night where all of her troubles began?

If she mentions that night, she will incriminate her daughter for heinous crimes. But if she doesn’t, she may never find Brooke; and if she has been abducted, the person who took her may come for Louise, too.

Sometimes the past comes back to kill you.

Line

What I’ll probably read soon:

I read a wonderful review about this book and this brilliant author contacted me and asked me if I wanted to read it too. How great is that? Of course I would love to read it. White Is The Coldest Colour has been burning a hole in my kindle  e-reader almost by now so I’m not passing up this opportunity. This isn’t going to gather dust if you know what I mean.

Portraits of the Dead by John Nicholl

Portraits of the Dead: A gripping serial killer thriller by [Nicholl, John]When Emma awakens in total darkness, she is aware of her nakedness. Injuries. A bed not her own. A blindingly bright light suddenly pierces the blackness and a disembodied male voice calls her “Venus”. Venus – the goddess of love, beauty, sex and desire. He says she is “Venus Six”. What does this predator want from her? Can she outwit the masked man who demands to be called “Master”? Or will he be looking for Venus Seven? 

Detective Inspector Gravel finds himself floundering when a local nineteen-year-old university student is abducted and imprisoned by a sadistic serial killer who has already tortured and killed at least five young women.

So that’s it, what are you reading this week? Share your link in the comments below so that I can come and take a look !

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (07-09-2016)

  1. I have tried to mix genres as much as possible but I realized when preparing my WWW post that most of the ARCs I have are thrillers, so I’m in for thriller month, haha. I have heard great and not-so-good things about Saving Sophie. I admit I’m mostly interested in how the author managed to handle the mother’s agoraphobia.
    I jumped on the free offer of My Girl earlier, so I’ll finally be able to read it. I heard it was quite dark. Portraits of The Dead is on my Kindle too, but I won’t have time for it for the moment. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it, it might bump it up my list.
    Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

