Reading in a new book format (since 2009) #dwarsligger #flipback

Dwarsligger

Do you know what a ‘dwarsligger‘ is? I happen to have a few of these at home so I’ll explain it a little and then I’ll show you my small collection.

A dwarsligger is a teeny tiny book the size of a small smartphone with text that is printed horizontally (hence the Dutch name which basically means something similar to ‘landscape’). One page of a conventional book is printed on two horizontal pages of 8 x 12 cm.

It was a publisher of Christian books that invented this new book format in 2009. If you haven’t heard of it it’s probably because there were only Dutch titles at first, then in 2010 there was a launch on the Spanish market and a year later Hodder and Stoughton published some titles in English (using the term flipback) but it’s only now in 2018 that it’s growing even more with Penguin Books who will publish John Green’s titles in the US. Good going, right?!

So the dwarsligger/flipback is held horizontally and the idea is that you can flip the pages with one hand. It’s ideal if you commute and you only have one hand free. The paper is super thin, similar to the pages of the Bible. I personally really like the idea of the format but I’m not a fan of the paper.

So here’s my little collection. They are all numbered at the back too so you can easily keep track of the ones you already have. I think I’ve only read one of them since I had them though (as a birthday gift some 10 years ago), but maybe I should give it another chance. I have to admit that it IS indeed a great idea if you go somewhere where you’re not supposed to take a book with you, it’s so small it fits in the pocket of your jeans ;-), or if you go on vacation and you want to read a paper copy.

Dwarsligger 1

If you don’t have a lot of space in your library, then this is a great solution to invest in, it’s very compact :-).

Dwarsligger 2

As for the price, it’s a little bit cheaper than a regular book but not that much. It’s 12,50 euro (most books have a price set at 19,99 euro, some 13,95 euro). It might be a lot cheaper in other countries though, as it is with traditional books.

Dwarsligger 3

I read there also exist special leather pockets to keep them in (gah that’s so cute!)

If you want to read more about it and see all the titles they already have (close to 500 in Dutch), you can check out the sites about the Flipbackbook (in English) or Dwarsligger (in Dutch).

So what do you think? Would you ever consider reading one of these babies? Why not give a few as a Christmas gift (or ask them) to another bookworm? Oh and have you read my post about Bookazines (another Dutch invention!). Check out my post on that topic here.

71 thoughts on “Reading in a new book format (since 2009) #dwarsligger #flipback

  1. Ohhh, I saw the John Green flipbacks when I popped by a local bookstore the other day! He’s not a favourite author of mine so I didn’t pick them up, but the format itself is really interesting 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! They are so neat looking. And I love the idea that you could slip one in the back pocket of your jeans. Which was the whole idea of the pulp paperback sizes, way back in the 40s-50s. The idea was men and women could carry these small books hidden about their person. So this ‘dwarsligger‘ sounds like fun. I would buy them in a heartbeat. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha they had some pretty good ideas back then! I remember (from older family members) those bouquet romances were very popular. I actually received these little ones years ago before I had an ereader (and Kindle didn’t exist either). I usually took 5 books with me on holiday but they’re always so heavy and big and that’s why I was looking for another solution… An ereader is of course more interesting now but I’m sure lots of people still want a paperback so this could help out. Thank you Alexandra!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I know all about trashy pulp romances, my mum and older sister consumed them by the dozen a week (if not more)! I distinctly remember how small they were. So yeah, these sound like great fun. Sadly, they’re not available here, in Canada, unless imported. And the price is a little steep, twice the price of an ordinary paperback. So unless they bring the price down and make them more accessible, I don’t see them taking out the eReader any time soon! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I saw this type of book in Romania a few years ago, when one literary magazine offered a dwarsligger book for free for each magazine bought. I’m pretty sure I still have it in my bookcase 🙂 What impressed me at that time was how thin the pages were – almost transparent. It’s very practical, indeed, it fits in (almost) every pocket!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have something similar (somewhere lol) although it’s a lot bigger called a ‘bedtime book’, as it’s meant to be easier to read in bed (it doesn’t make much of a difference tbh). They are fab but I don’t know whether I’d be able to read them, the writing looks quite small and I have a hard enough time reading normal books lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I see people reading these on the train sometimes though, they don’t want to bring a heavy book but don’t want to read a digital copy so that’s a solution then. I’m waiting for an opportunity where I’m not supposed to bring a book to take one of these with me. I do like the idea of adding one with a Christmas package too btw, I’d be very happy anyway 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I never take public transport anymore, but I can see why it’d be the perfect way to have reading material without having to drag the weight, haha.
        I’d totally consider hiding one in your pocket when you have family holiday obligations you don’t feel like. [Isn’t that the perfect opportunity? :P]
        That’s true!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I had a few of these when i was in my teens. Found them in a second hand shop, and thought they were really cool. Never actually ended up reading them cuz turns out, their size kinda bothered me… :/
    They look practical for travelling, but for me kindle would still be a better way of reading while on the move.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Links I’ve Enjoyed This Week – 23/12/18 – Secret Library Book Blog

  7. This is such a wonderful format for a book, it looks so cute 🙂 I bought one of these one time a couple years ago in an English bookshop and I really liked the reading experience 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment